Request for Information on Potential Impacts of Draft REGDOC-2.4.4, Safety Analysis for Class IB Nuclear Facilities

1. Preface

Acknowledging the draft nature of this document, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is seeking a preliminary assessment of the potential impacts of draft REGDOC-2.4.4, Safety Analysis for Class IB Nuclear Facilities should it receive Commission approval. The CNSC welcomes comments on this document as well as on the proposed regulatory document itself.

Comments could include additional information on potential impacts should the regulatory document be approved by the Commission and subsequently implemented , Should stakeholders decide to submit impact estimates, the CNSC encourages them to clearly state assumptions and provide enough detail to allow an independent observer to understand how the estimate was derived. Stakeholders could also propose potential alternative approaches that meet the document’s safety objectives.

The CNSC will consider comments received. Comments will be included in the main regulatory document disposition table and may lead to modifications in the draft regulatory document.

In fulfilling its mandate as a federal regulator, the CNSC must also consider values and principles that are difficult to quantify with a dollar value. It must also give consideration to fulfilling its responsiblity under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act to disseminate objective scientific and regulatory information. In all cases, safety is the CNSC’s top priority.

All comments received will become part of the public record.

2. Background

REGDOC-2.4.4, Safety Analysis for Class IB Nuclear Facilities sets out requirements and guidance on developing a safety analysis for Class IB nuclear facilities, and identifies the information that should be included in a safety analysis report.

REGDOC 2.4.4 applies to Class IB nuclear facilities, which are described in the scope of the regulatory document. It does not apply to Class IA facilities (such as nuclear power plants or small modular reactors).

3. Objectives

A safety analysis program, including the associated safety analysis report and the maintenance of the program, is a licence and regulatory requirement for all Class IB nuclear facilities. A safety analysis program and report is part of how Class IB applicants and licensees demonstrate they have taken adequate provisions to undertake the activity to be licensed.

This regulatory document provides applicants and licensees with a clear understanding of CNSC staff’s approach to the assessment and acceptance of a safety analysis report submitted by a licensee. It clarifies the requirements for various elements of safety analysis.

4. Regulatory approach

No new requirements have been established in this regulatory document. The requirements already exist in the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and the regulations made under it. This new regulatory document provides a comprehensive and organized location for reference by the applicant or licensee.

Guidance contained in this document exists to inform the applicant, to elaborate further on requirements or to provide information to licensees and applicants on how to meet requirements. CNSC staff considers guidance when determining the adequacy of a submission. An applicant may put forward a case to demonstrate that the intent of a requirement is addressed by other means, and demonstrate this case with supportable evidence.

5. Implementation

REGDOC-2.4.4 will become effective upon publication. For new Class IB nuclear facilities, the applicant or licensee are expected to follow the requirements and guidance in this regulatory document in their safety analysis. Where applicable, the applicant or licensee may use a graded approach.

6. Potential impacts

The CNSC welcomes information on the potential impacts to the regulated community or alternative approaches to meeting the document’s objectives. Interested stakeholders may provide information about the potential impacts of incorporating the requirements and guidance in this document into their operations.

For current Class IB licensees, many of the areas addressed in this regulatory document have already been taken into account in the existing safety analysis for the nuclear facility.

Stakeholders may consider impacts in terms of costs, operations or other impacts.

7. Feedback requested

Please submit comments or feedback to the CNSC by November 27, 2020, in one of the following ways:

  • Email: consultation@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca
  • Mail: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    P.O. Box 1046, Station B
    280 Slater Street
    Ottawa, ON  K1P 5S9
  • Fax: 613-995-5086
Date modified:

Demande d’information sur les impacts potentiels du REGDOC-2.4.4, Analyse de la sûreté pour les installations nucléaires de catégorie IB (ébauche)

1. Préface

Le présent document explique plus en détail le document d’application de la réglementation proposé. La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) sollicite des commentaires sur le présent document ainsi que sur le document d’application de la réglementation en tant que tel.

Les commentaires pourraient inclure des renseignements supplémentaires sur la mise en œuvre du document d’application de la réglementation, les incidences potentielles ou les méthodes de rechange potentielles qui répondent aux objectifs de sûreté du document. Si des parties intéressées décident de soumettre une estimation des incidences, la CCSN encourage ces derniers à énoncer clairement les hypothèses utilisées et à fournir amplement de détails afin de permettre à un observateur indépendant de comprendre la façon dont on est arrivé à cette estimation.

La CCSN tiendra compte des commentaires reçus. Pour s’acquitter de son mandat à titre d’organisme de réglementation fédéral, la CCSN doit tenir compte de valeurs et de principes qui sont difficiles à quantifier monétairement. Elle doit également tenir compte du besoin de s’acquitter de sa responsabilité, stipulée en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, qui consiste à diffuser des renseignements objectifs sur les plans scientifique et réglementaire. Dans tous les cas, la sûreté est la principale priorité de la CCSN.

Tous les commentaires reçus seront versés au dossier public.

2. Contexte

Le REGDOC-2.4.4, Analyse de la sûreté pour les installations nucléaires de catégorie IB, énonce les exigences et l’orientation relatives à l’élaboration d’une analyse de la sûreté pour les installations nucléaires de catégorie IB, et indique les renseignements qui doivent figurer dans un rapport d’analyse de la sûreté

Le REGDOC-2.4.4 s’applique aux installations nucléaires de catégorie IB, qui sont décrites à la section Portée du document d’application de la réglementation. Il ne s’applique pas aux installations de catégorie IA (notamment les centrales nucléaires ou les petits réacteurs modulaires).

3. Objectifs

Un programme d’analyse de la sûreté, y compris le rapport d’analyse de la sûreté associé et la tenue à jour du programme, est une exigence du permis et également une exigence réglementaire pour toutes les installations nucléaires de catégorie IB. Le programme d’analyse de la sûreté et son rapport connexe démontrent que les demandeurs et titulaires de permis d’installations de catégorie IB ont pris les mesures adéquates pour entreprendre l’activité visée par le permis.

Ce document d’application de la réglementation permet aux demandeurs et aux titulaires de permis de mieux comprendre l’approche adoptée par le personnel de la CCSN pour évaluer et accepter un rapport d’analyse de la sûreté soumis par un titulaire de permis. Il clarifie les exigences concernant les différents éléments d’une analyse de la sûreté.

4. Approche réglementaire

Ce document ne contient aucune nouvelle exigence. Les exigences existent déjà dans la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et ses règlements d’application. Ce nouveau document d’application de la réglementation fournit un cadre de référence complet et structuré pour le demandeur ou le titulaire de permis.

L’orientation contenue dans ce document vise à informer le demandeur, à expliquer plus en détail les exigences ou à fournir des renseignements aux demandeurs et aux titulaires de permis sur la façon de répondre aux exigences. Le personnel de la CCSN tient compte de l’orientation lorsqu’il détermine le caractère adéquat d’une demande. Si d’autres approches sont présentées, les demandeurs doivent démontrer que celles-ci répondent aux exigences.

5. Mise en œuvre

Le REGDOC-2.4.4 entrera en vigueur lors de sa publication. Pour les nouvelles installations nucléaires de catégorie IB, le demandeur ou le titulaire de permis est tenu de suivre les exigences et l’orientation du présent document dans son analyse de la sûreté. Le cas échéant, le demandeur ou le titulaire de permis peut utiliser une approche graduelle.

6. Incidences potentielles

La CCSN invite la population à lui faire part de tout renseignement à l’égard des impacts possibles sur la collectivité réglementée ou sur les autres approches envisagées afin de répondre aux objectifs du document. Les parties intéressées peuvent fournir des renseignements sur les impacts possibles de l’intégration des exigences et de l’orientation énoncées de ce document dans leurs opérations.

Pour les titulaires de permis actuels, la plupart des domaines abordés dans le document REGDOC-2.4.4 ont déjà été pris en compte dans l’analyse de la sûreté existante pour leur installation nucléaire.

Les parties intéressées peuvent envisager ces incidences possibles en termes de coûts, d’activités ou d’autres facteurs.

7. Demande de rétroaction

Veuillez soumettre vos commentaires ou votre rétroaction à la CCSN d’ici le 27 novembre 2020, de l’une des manières suivantes :

  • Courriel : consultation@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca
  • Poste : Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    C.P. 1046, succursale B
    280, rue Slater
    Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5S9
  • Télécopieur : 613-995-5086
Dernière mise à jour :