Hydrogen Management: Research and Development in Mitigation of Severe Accidents for CANDU Reactors in Canada

Abstract of the technical presentation presented at:
7th International Workshop on CANDU Safety Association for Sustainability (CANSAS‑2018)
October 15–18, 2018

Prepared by:
Samuel Gyepi-Garbrah
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Abstract:

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) provides regulatory oversight of safe operation of CANDU nuclear power plants (NPPs) in Canada. One current issue that is drawing significant attention is the management, control and mitigation of hydrogen risk. In this view, the practical guidelines, as well as fundamental basic physical principles governing the phenomenon of hydrogen behaviour, are of particular attention to the CNSC.

An understanding of hydrogen generation and behaviour in CANDU NPPs is important to ensure greater robustness in case of a beyond-design-basis accidents (BDBA). During an accident, utilities use analytical models and tools to assess hydrogen behaviour, including its source term, dispersion, key combustion phenomena, and its impacts on containment integrity. Based on these assessments, and to ensure greater robustness during BDBAs and severe accidents, numerous mitigating strategies have been implemented. These strategies include:

  • mixing using local air coolers
  • removal by igniters
  • recombination by passive autocatalytic recombiners
  • active and passive filtered containment venting provisions 

The review of technologies available for mitigation is also essential in assessing risks posed by hydrogen during a severe accident. The CNSC’s collaborative and ongoing R&D efforts to improve understanding of hydrogen-carbon monoxide combustion challenges following severe accidents will be highlighted.

With a focus on CANDU NPPs, this presentation will address strategies for hydrogen management and reduction in containment. It will also discuss some future research and development of hydrogen safety challenges, based on a risk-informed decision-making approach.

Keywords: Hydrogen challenges, CANDU, research and development

To obtain a copy of the abstract’s document, please contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Gestion de l’hydrogène : Recherche et développement visant l’atténuation des accidents graves mettant en cause des réacteurs CANDU au Canada

Résumé de la présentation technique réalisée dans le cadre du :
7e atelier international de la CANDU Safety Association for Sustainability (CANSAS 2018)
Du 15 au 18 octobre 2018

Auteur
Samuel Gyepi-Garbrah
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Résumé

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) veille à la surveillance réglementaire de l’exploitation sûre de centrales nucléaires dotées de réacteurs CANDU au Canada. La gestion et le contrôle de l’hydrogène ainsi que l’atténuation du risque connexe constituent certains des enjeux attirant une attention particulière. Dans cette optique, la CCSN se concentre surtout sur les lignes directrices pratiques ainsi que les principes physiques fondamentaux régissant le comportement de l’hydrogène.

Il est important de comprendre le comportement et les principes de génération de l’hydrogène dans les centrales nucléaires dotées de réacteurs CANDU afin de renforcer la robustesse en cas d’accidents hors dimensionnement (AHD). Durant un accident, les services publics évaluent, au moyen d’outils et de modèles analytiques, le comportement de l’hydrogène, y compris son terme source, sa dispersion, ses principaux phénomènes de combustion et son incidence sur l’intégrité de l’enceinte de confinement. En fonction de ces évaluations, et dans le but de renforcer la robustesse en cas d’AHD et d’accidents graves, de nombreuses stratégies d’atténuation ont été mises en œuvre, notamment les suivantes :

  • mélange au moyen de refroidisseurs d’air ponctuels
  • enlèvement au moyen d’allumeurs
  • recombinaison au moyen de recombineurs autocatalytiques passifs
  • dispositions de ventilation filtrée active et passive de l’enceinte de confinement

Il est également essentiel d’examiner les technologies d’atténuation disponibles pour évaluer le risque associé à l’hydrogène en cas d’accidents graves. Les efforts concertés et continus de la CCSN en matière de recherche et développement (R et D) visant à renforcer la compréhension des défis liés à la combustion de l’hydrogène et du monoxyde de carbone à la suite d’accidents graves sont mis en évidence.

La présentation, axée sur les centrales nucléaires dotées de réacteurs CANDU, aborde les stratégies de gestion et de réduction de l’hydrogène dans l’enceinte de confinement. Elle traite également d’activités ultérieures de R et D à l’égard des défis liés à la sûreté de l’hydrogène, selon un processus décisionnel tenant compte du risque.

Mots-clés : défis liés à l’hydrogène, CANDU, recherche et développement

Pour obtenir une copie du document associé au résumé, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel à cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 613-995-5894 ou au 1-800-668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez nous indiquer le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :