Canadian regulatory framework for severe accidents

Abstract of the technical presentation presented at:
International Severe Accident Management Conference (ISAMC 2018)
October 15–18, 2018

Prepared by:
Jana Ene
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Abstract:

This presentation summarizes the Canadian regulatory framework for severe accidents. Relevant severe accident requirements and guidance in Canadian licences and regulatory documents are presented.

After the Fukushima accident, one of the Canadian regulatory emphases has been enhancing the regulatory framework for a better implementation of the defence-in-depth principle and strengthening accident prevention and mitigation. The CNSC had established an action plan to ensure that the lessons learned from the Fukushima accident are applied in Canada to enhance the safety of nuclear facilities. This plan contains the following category of action items: strengthening reactor defence-in-depth, enhancing emergency response, improving the regulatory framework and enhancing international collaboration.

Amendments were made to licences and regulatory documents on a wide range of topics to reflect severe accident issues. This presentation focuses only on REGDOC-2.4.1, Deterministic Safety Analysis (2014), REGDOC-2.4.2, Probabilistic Safety Assessment (PSA) for Nuclear Power Plants (2014), REGDOC‑2.3.2, Accident Management, Version 2 (2015), REGDOC‑2.10.1, Nuclear Emergency Preparedness and Response, Version 2 (2017) and REGDOC-1.1.3, Licence Application Guide: Licence to Operate a Nuclear Power Plant (2017).

Severe accident requirements and guidance are specified under some safety and control areas (SCAs) in the licences and licence conditions handbooks of Canadian utilities. Also, the licence conditions handbook lists the compliance and verification criteria, such as relevant regulatory documents and Canadian standards.

To obtain a copy of the abstract’s document, please contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Cadre de réglementation canadien visant les accidents graves

Résumé du document technique présenté dans le cadre de la :
Conférence internationale sur la gestion des accidents graves (CIGAG) de 2018
Du 15 au 18 octobre 2018

Auteure
Jana Ene
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Résumé

La présentation vise à survoler le cadre de réglementation canadien visant les accidents graves et à énoncer les exigences et l’orientation pertinentes à l’égard des accidents graves se trouvant dans les permis et les documents d’application de la réglementation canadiens.

À la suite de l’accident de Fukushima, le Canada a notamment mis l’accent sur l’amélioration du cadre de réglementation de manière à favoriser la mise en œuvre du principe de défense en profondeur ainsi qu’à renforcer la prévention et l’atténuation des accidents. La CCSN a élaboré un plan d’action afin de veiller à ce que les leçons tirées de l’accident de Fukushima soient appliquées au Canada en vue de renforcer la sûreté des installations nucléaires. Ce plan comprend des mesures de suivi associées aux catégories suivantes : renforcer la défense en profondeur des réacteurs, améliorer l’intervention d’urgence, améliorer le cadre de réglementation et renforcer la coopération internationale.

Des modifications à l’égard d’un vaste éventail de sujets ont été apportées aux permis et aux documents d’application de la réglementation afin de refléter les enjeux relatifs aux accidents graves. Cette présentation porte seulement sur les documents d’application de la réglementation suivants : REGDOC-2.4.1, Analyse déterministe de la sûreté (2014), REGDOC‑2.4.2, Études probabilistes de sûreté (EPS) pour les centrales nucléaires (2014), REGDOC‑2.3.2, Gestion des accidents, version 2 (2015), REGDOC‑2.10.1, Préparation et intervention relatives aux urgences nucléaires, version 2 (2017) et REGDOC-1.1.3, Guide de présentation d’une demande de permis : Permis d’exploitation d’une centrale nucléaire (2017).

Les exigences et l’orientation à l’égard des accidents graves sont énoncées sous certains domaines de sûreté et de réglementation (DSR) dans les permis et les manuels des conditions de permis des services publics canadiens. De plus, le manuel des conditions de permis dresse la liste des critères de conformité et de vérification, par exemple, les normes et les documents d’application de la réglementation pertinents du Canada.

Pour obtenir une copie du document associé au résumé, nous vous invitons à communiquer avec nous par courriel à cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 613-995-5894 ou au 1‑800-668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez nous indiquer le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :