Regulatory Perspectives on the Condition Assessment and Monitoring of Safety Significant Major Reactor Components for Long-Term Operation

An abstract of the technical paper presented at:
IAEA Fourth International Conference on Nuclear Power Plant Life Management
October 23–27, 2017

Prepared by:
Sankar Laxman
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Abstract

In Canada, nuclear power plant operators are required to ensure the fitness for service of safety significant structures, systems and components (SSCs), in accordance with license condition (LC) 7.1 of the power reactor operating licence. The accompanying licence conditions handbook (LCH) provides the compliance criteria for meeting the regulatory requirement and requires periodic inspection of the safety significant SSCs following CNSC-accepted inspection standards. In addition, the LCH mandates a well-structured and effective aging management program (AM program) following the requirements set out in REGDOC-2.6.3, Fitness For Service–Aging Management, for the safety significant SSCs and component-specific plans for the major components like fuel channels, feeder pipes, steam generators, calandria vessels and reactor internal components. These component-specific aging management plans are normally called lifecycle management plans (LCMPs).

Most of the Canadian CANDU nuclear power plants are entering periods of long-term operation (LTO) beyond their initially assumed operating life. The current and predicted condition and proactive management of known or plausible aging issues are of primary regulatory concern when assessing requests for LTO of major components like fuel channels, feeder pipes, steam generators, calandria vessels and reactor internal components.

Previously, as part of the planning for potential refurbishment projects, the CNSC required nuclear power plant (NPP) operators to complete a one-time integrated safety review (ISR) in accordance with CNSC regulatory document RD-360, Life Extension of Nuclear Power Plants. The ISR is similar in scope to the periodic safety reviews (PSRs) described in the IAEA safety standards. The ISR included comprehensive and systematic component condition assessments and the development of an integrated implementation plan (IIP) which identified safety improvements to support post-refurbishment safe operation of an NPP. The main assumption behind an ISR is that during a refurbishment project, some of the major components, like fuel channels, would be replaced. The aim of the ISR was to enhance the level of safety of a refurbished NPP to a level comparable to a modern, newly built NPP when it is practical to do so. The period of time assessed under an ISR encompassed the full period of planned extended operation of an NPP, and licence applicants were required to re-apply for an operating licence at five- year intervals.

It should be noted that in 2009, an Integrated Regulatory Review Service (IRRS) mission to Canada recommended the implementation of PSRs as part of the licensing basis for Canadian NPPs. Further, the implementation of PSRs was identified as a guiding principle by the contracting parties to the 2015 Vienna Declaration on Nuclear Safety (VDNS). In April 2015, the CNSC published REGDOC-2.3.3, Periodic Safety Reviews, which supersedes RD-360 and contains requirements that are consistent with IAEA Specific Safety Guide No. SSG-25, Periodic Safety Review for Nuclear Power Plants. With the publication of REGDOC-2.3.3 and its implementation in the licensing basis for Canadian NPPs, the CNSC now requires the Canadian CANDU NPP operators to perform a detailed PSR to demonstrate continued safe operation of NPPs. Although the ISR was a one-time process applied only to NPPs undergoing refurbishment, the PSR process can be applied to NPPs at any stage of operation and must be repeated at identified intervals referred to as PSR periods in this paper. PSR periods typically encompass a 10-year licence renewal period. In the case of an NPP entering a period of LTO, the PSR should also consider the impact the full period of planned extended operation will have on the safe operation of SSCs when practical to do so.

One of the essential components of the PSR process, like the ISR, is determining the actual condition (condition assessment and monitoring) of safety significant SSCs, including confirming that the applied aging management practices will assure fitness for service (FFS) of these SSCs for the continued operation of the NPP through the entire PSR period. It is expected that the condition assessments, implemented monitoring programs and AM programs will demonstrate that safety significant SSCs are meeting and will continue to meet the design basis and design assumptions for the PSR period and throughout the intended long-term operation. If this objective cannot be met, the applicant is required to develop an IIP containing the required corrective actions and safety enhancements.

The actual condition of these major components is an important factor in any review of plant design safety and performance during the entire PSR period. Hence, it is important to understand and thoroughly document the condition of the major components to determine whether they are capable of and adequate for meeting the design basis, assumptions and requirements throughout the PSR period. Additionally, the assessment should review the ongoing maintenance, surveillance and in-service inspection program(s), as applicable, to support continued operation of the major components.

Understanding active and plausible aging-related degradation is important. Mechanisms that can initiate flaws, hydride blisters, embrittlement and other irradiation or environment-induced material property changes, adverse microstructural and metallurgical changes or changes in the ability of the material to withstand the anticipated loading conditions in the presence of flaws must be understood. Assessments should consider the effectiveness of existing plant inspection programs to identify and characterize aging-related degradation and include any significant findings from national or international R&D activities undertaken to quantify the functional capability of the major components and its materials. Once the actual condition of the major components and its material has been determined, the results should be assessed against the applicable design basis and assumptions to confirm that design basis assumptions have not been significantly challenged and will remain so throughout the PSR period.

The main challenge is to understand and quantify the actual condition of major components and their ability to withstand continuous operation. Another challenge is to evaluate time- and environment-dependent aging degradation and its effects on the safe operation of these major components.

This paper describes the regulatory expectations for the detailed evaluations necessary to determine the actual condition of safety significant major components like fuel channels, feeder pipes, steam generators, calandria vessels and reactor internal components. The paper also presents the regulatory review practices adopted by the CNSC in reviewing the condition assessments, including monitoring programs and the LCMPs. Additionally, some lessons learned from the recent Canadian experience are presented and discussed.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, please contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Perspectives réglementaires sur l’évaluation et la surveillance de la condition des composants majeurs d’un réacteur qui en assurent la sûreté à long terme

Résumé du document technique présenté à la :
Quatrième conférence internationale de l'AIEA sur la gestion du cycle de vie des centrales nucléaires
Du 23 au 27 octobre 2017

Auteur :
Sankar Laxman
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Résumé

Au Canada, les exploitants de centrales nucléaires doivent assurer l'aptitude fonctionnelle des structures, des systèmes et des composants (SSC) importants pour la sûreté, conformément à la condition de permis 7.1 du permis d'exploitation d'un réacteur de puissance. Le Manuel des conditions de permis (MCP) qui accompagne le permis fournit les critères de conformité pour respecter les exigences réglementaires et exige la tenue d'inspections périodiques des SSC importants pour la sûreté, dans le respect des normes d'inspection acceptées de la CCSN. De plus, le MCP exige la mise en place d'un programme de gestion du vieillissement bien structuré et efficace qui respecte les exigences du document REGDOC-2.6.3, Aptitude fonctionnelle : Gestion du vieillissement, pour les SSC importants pour la sûreté ainsi que pour les composants majeurs comme les canaux de combustible, les conduites d'alimentation, les générateurs de vapeur, les cuves de calandre et les composants internes du réacteur. Les plans de gestion du vieillissement pour ces composants sont habituellement appelés plans de gestion du cycle de vie (PGCV).

La plupart des centrales nucléaires CANDU du Canada entrent dans une période d'exploitation à long terme qui va au-delà de leur durée de vie nominale supposée. Les conditions réelles et prévues ainsi que la gestion proactive des problèmes de vieillissement connus ou plausibles sont les principales préoccupations lorsqu'il s'agit d'évaluer les demandes d'exploitation à long terme pour les composants majeurs comme les canaux de combustible, les conduites d'alimentation, les générateurs de vapeur, les cuves de calandre et les composants internes du réacteur.

Dans le cadre de la planification des projets de réfection proposés, la CCSN avait demandé aux exploitants de centrales nucléaires de procéder à un examen intégré de la sûreté (EIS) unique, conformément au document d'application de la réglementation de la CCSN intitulé RD-360, Prolongement de la durée de vie des centrales nucléaires. L'EIS a une portée similaire au bilan périodique de la sûreté (BPS) qui est décrit dans les normes de sûreté de l'AIEA. L'EIS demandé comprenait des évaluations complètes et systématiques de la condition des composants ainsi que l'élaboration d'un plan intégré de mise en œuvre (PIMO) qui identifiait les améliorations à apporter à la sûreté pour appuyer l'exploitation sûre d'une centrale nucléaire après sa réfection. L'hypothèse principale derrière un EIS est que pendant le projet de réfection, certains composants majeurs comme les canaux de combustible seraient remplacés. L'EIS avait donc pour but d'augmenter le niveau de sûreté d'une centrale nucléaire remise à neuf afin qu'il soit comparable à celui d'une centrale nucléaire nouvellement construite et moderne, lorsque cela est possible. La période de temps évaluée dans le cadre d'un EIS comprenait la période complète d'exploitation prolongée prévue d'une centrale nucléaire, et les demandeurs de permis devaient présenter une nouvelle demande pour un permis d'exploitation tous les cinq ans.

Il serait bon de noter qu'en 2009, une mission du Service d'examen intégré de la réglementation (SEIR) au Canada a recommandé l'intégration des bilans périodiques de la sûreté (BPS) au cadre du fondement d'autorisation des centrales nucléaires canadiennes. En outre, la mise en œuvre des BPS a été identifiée comme un principe directeur par les parties contractantes à la Déclaration de Vienne sur la sûreté nucléaire de 2015. En avril 2015, la CCSN a publié le REGDOC-2.3.3, Bilans périodiques de la sûreté qui remplace le document RD-360 et qui contient des exigences conformes au Guide de sûreté particulier de l'AIEA no SSG-25, Periodic Safety Review for Nuclear Power Plants. Avec la publication du REGDOC-2.3.3 et son ajout au fondement d'autorisation des centrales nucléaires canadiennes, la CCSN exige maintenant des exploitants de centrales nucléaires CANDU qu'ils procèdent à un BPS détaillé pour démontrer l'exploitation sûre continue de leur centrale. Alors que l'EIS était un processus unique appliqué seulement aux centrales nucléaires en cours de réfection, le BPS peut être appliqué aux centrales nucléaires à n'importe quelle étape de leur exploitation et doit être répété à des intervalles précis appelés « intervalle du BPS » dans le présent document. L'intervalle du BPS englobe habituellement une période de renouvellement de permis de 10 ans. Dans le cas d'une centrale nucléaire qui entame une période d'exploitation à long terme, le BPS devrait également examiner l'incidence de la période complète de l'exploitation prolongée sur l'exploitation sûre des SSC, lorsqu'il est possible de le faire.

Un des éléments essentiels du processus de BPS est, comme pour l'EIS, la détermination de la condition réelle (évaluation et surveillance de la condition) des SSC importants pour la sûreté, y compris la confirmation que les pratiques appliquées de gestion du vieillissement assureront l'aptitude fonctionnelle de ces SSC pendant l'exploitation continue de la centrale, et tout au long de l'intervalle du BPS. On s'attend à ce que l'évaluation des conditions, les programmes de surveillance mis en œuvre et les programmes de gestion du vieillissement démontrent que les SSC importants pour la sûreté respectent, et continueront de respecter, le dimensionnement et les hypothèses relatives à la conception pendant l'intervalle du BPS et tout au long de l'exploitation à long terme prévue. Si cet objectif ne peut être atteint, alors le demandeur doit élaborer un PIMO contenant des mesures correctives et des améliorations à la sûreté.

La condition réelle de ces composants majeurs est un important facteur de tout examen de la sûreté visant la conception de la centrale et de son rendement pendant l'entièreté de l'intervalle du BPS. Par conséquent, il est important de comprendre et de documenter en détail la condition des composants majeurs afin de déterminer s'ils sont aptes et adéquats pour respecter le dimensionnement, les hypothèses et les exigences tout au long de l'intervalle du BPS. De plus, l'évaluation devrait porter sur l'entretien continu, la surveillance et les programmes d'inspection en service, le cas échéant, pour appuyer l'exploitation continue des composants majeurs.

Il est important de comprendre la dégradation active et plausible liée au vieillissement. Il faut comprendre les mécanismes entraînant des défauts, des boursouflures dues à la présence d'hydrure, la fragilisation et d'autres dommages à la propriété des matériaux induits par l'irradiation ou l'environnement, les changements négatifs à la microstructure et aux éléments métallurgiques ou la capacité du matériau de résister à des conditions de charge anticipées en présence de défauts. L'évaluation devrait prendre en compte l'efficacité des programmes d'inspection existants à la centrale pour déterminer et caractériser la dégradation liée au vieillissement et devrait inclure les constatations importantes provenant des activités de recherche et développement nationales et internationales entreprises dans le but de quantifier la capacité fonctionnelle des composants majeurs et de leurs matériaux. Une fois que la condition réelle des composants majeurs et de leurs matériaux est établie, alors les résultats devraient être évalués par rapport au dimensionnement applicable et aux hypothèses afin de confirmer que le dimensionnement et les hypothèses n'ont pas été sérieusement remis en question et demeureront les mêmes tout au long de l'intervalle du BPS.

Le principal défi est de comprendre et de quantifier la condition réelle des composants majeurs et leur capacité à conserver leur intégrité pendant l'exploitation continue. Un autre défi consiste à évaluer la dégradation liée au vieillissement en fonction du temps et de l'environnement ainsi que ses effets sur l'exploitation sûre de ces composants majeurs.

Le présent document décrit les attentes réglementaires concernant les évaluations détaillées qui sont nécessaires pour déterminer la condition réelle des composants majeurs importants pour la sûreté comme les canaux de combustible, les conduites d'alimentation, les générateurs de vapeur, les cuves de calandre et les composants internes du réacteur. Ce document présente également les pratiques d'examen réglementaire adoptées par la CCSN dans l'examen de l'évaluation de la condition, y compris les programmes de surveillance et les PGCV. De plus, certaines leçons tirées de la récente expérience canadienne y sont présentées et discutées.

Pour obtenir une copie du document associé au résumé, nous vous invitons à communiquer avec nous par courriel à cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 613-995-5894 ou au 1-800-668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez nous indiquer le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :