IRIS 2010 – Part III: Numerical simulations of Meppen II-4 test and VTT-IRSN-CNSC punching tests

Abstract of the technical paper presented at: The 21st International Conference on Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology (SMiRT-21)
New Delhi, India
November 6–11, 2011

Prepared by:
N. Orbovic, CNSC, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
F. Benboudjema, J.-B. Colliat, Y. Berthaud, ENS Cahan, France
F. Tarallo and J.-M. Rambach, IRSN, Fontenay aux Roses, France

Abstract

The benchmark IRIS-2010 is an exercise in the OECD/NEA/CSNI framework. IRIS is the acronym for the title of an activity initiated inside CSNI/IAGE working groups: Improving the Robustness assessments, methodologies for structures Impacted by missile. This paper is the third of a series of five companion papers that present the objectives, the experiments to be simulated, the simulations of tests with punching failure, the simulation of tests with bending failure and the lessons and recommendations.

The goal of this paper is to present two sets of numerical simulations: one set related to the tests on reinforced concrete slabs: a Meppen test and the other to thee repeated VTT punching tests. The Mappen test is one of the tests carried out in the Mappen test campaign in Germany during the 1980s. The test was performed with a 6.5m*6.0m*0.7m slab impacted by a soft missile with a velocity of 250 m/s. The Meppen test results were available to the participants in advance with the goal to calibrate the models. Three repeated VTT punching tests were performed with a 2.1m*2.1m*0.25m reinforced concrete slab impacted by a hard missile with the target velocity of 135 m/s. The results of three repeated VTT punching test were not available to the participants in advance. It was a blind prediction. Both tests were with dominant punching behavior. The Meppen test was punching combined with flexural behavior of the slab, without perforation. In the VTT tests were the slab was perforated. Three repeated tests were performed to assess the repeatability of the tests.

twenty-six teams simulated Mappen test and 24 teams VTT punching test. Although the modeling approached were adjusted using available Meppen test results, the scatter in VTT punching simulation was very important. This paper provides a summary of the results with a discussion regarding the main issues faced in these simulations. Special attention will be paid to the concrete erosion criterion. This criterion which is not related to mechanical properties of the slab/missile has a direct impact to the test results.

A comparison of the simulations of two tests will be carried out, taking into account that both tests are with dominant punching behavior. Recommendations are provided for the follow up of this benchmark.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, contact the CNSC. When contacting the CNSC, please provide the title and date of the abstract.


Date modified:

IRIS 2010 – Partie III : Simulations numériques de l’essai Meppen II-4 et des essais de perforation VTT-IRSN-CCSN

Le résumé du document technique a été présenté lors de la 21e Conférence internationale sur la mécanique des structures dans la technologie des réacteurs (SMiRT-21)
New Delhi (Inde)
Du 6 au 11 novembre 2011

Préparé par :
N. Orbovic, CCSN, Ottawa (Ontario), Canada
F. Benboudjema, J.-B. Colliat, Y et Berthaud, ENS Cahan, France
F. Tarallo et J.-M. Rambach, IRSN, Fontenay aux Roses, France

Résumé

L’activité IRIS_2010 est un exercice du regroupement OCDE/AEN/CSIN. IRIS est un acronyme qui vient de l’anglais Improving the Robustness assessments, methodologies for structures Impacted by missile et est le titre d’une activité des groupes de travail CSIN/IAGE. Le présent document est le troisième d’une série de cinq documents qui présentent les objectifs, les expériences de simulation, les simulations d’essais avec défaillance par pliage et les leçons et recommandations s’y rapportant.

L’objectif du présent document est de présenter deux ensembles de simulations numériques : un ensemble lié aux essais sur des dalles de béton armé, soit un essai Meppen et trois essais de perforation répétés sur l’installation VTT. L’essai Meppen est l’un des essais réalisés en Allemagne à Meppen lors d’une série d’essais dans les années 1980. Il a été réalisé sur une dalle de béton de 6,5 m x 6,0 m x 0,7 m frappée par un projectile non protégé ayant une vitesse de 250 m/s. Les résultats de l’essai Meppen étaient disponibles pour les participants à l’avance dans le but d’étalonner les modèles. Ensuite, trois essais de perforation répétés sur VTT ont été réalisés sur une dalle en béton armé de 2,1 m x 2,1 m  0,25 m frappée par un projectile non protégé arrivant à une vitesse de 135 m/s. Les résultats de ces trois essais n’étaient pas disponibles à l’avance pour les participants. Il s’agissait d’une prévision à l’aveugle. Les deux essais portaient surtout sur le comportement de perforation. L’essai de Meppen comprenait un comportement de perforation combiné à un comportement de flexion, mais sans que la dalle soit transpercée complètement. Lors des essais pour VTT, la dalle a été complètement transpercée. Trois essais répétés ont été réalisés pour évaluer la répétabilité des essais.

Vingt-six équipes ont simulé l’essai Meppen et 24 équipes ont simulé l’essai de perforation VTT. Bien que la méthode de modélisation ait été ajustée à l’aide des résultats d’essai Meppen, la diffusion dans la simulation VTT était très importante. Le présent document fournit un résumé des essais avec un examen portant sur les principaux problèmes rencontrés dans ces simulations. Ce critère, qui n’est pas lié aux propriétés mécaniques de la dalle ou du projectile, a un impact direct sur les résultats d’essai

Une comparaison des simulations des deux essais qui tiendra compte du fait que les deux essais portaient surtout sur le comportement de perforation sera réalisée. Des recommandations sont fournies pour le suivi de cette activité.

Pour obtenir une copie du document relatif au résumé, communiquez avec la CCSN. Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :