Regulating Canada's Geological Repositories

March 2019

Download it in PDF format

Quick Facts

  • The Government of Canada’s 1996 Policy Framework for Radioactive Waste provides the national context for radioactive waste management, along with a set of principles to ensure that this management of radioactive waste is carried out in a safe, environmentally sound manner.
  • Radioactive waste is defined as any material (liquid, gaseous or solid) that contains a radioactive nuclear substance for which the owner has no foreseen use and that is determined to be a waste product.
  • The Government of Canada and the nuclear industry are developing long-term radioactive waste management solutions that protect health, safety, security and the environment.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is mandated to regulate the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment; to implement Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public. The CNSC licenses, monitors and inspects nuclear facilities in Canada, including radioactive waste management facilities. All radioactive waste in Canada, including used nuclear fuel, is currently held in safe, secure and environmentally sound interim storage facilities.

As the Canadian nuclear regulator, the CNSC is responsible for licensing geological repositories intended for the long-term management of radioactive waste. A geological repository is constructed underground – usually at a depth of several hundred metres or more below the surface – in a stable rock formation.

There are currently two geological repository initiatives underway in Canada: the Ontario Power Generation (OPG) Deep Geologic Repository project and the Nuclear Waste Management Organization’s (NWMO) Adaptive Phased Management initiative.

Ontario Power Generation’s proposed Deep Geologic Repository

Conceptual design of a Deep Geologic Repository (DGR) Source: Ontario Power Generation
Conceptual design of a Deep Geologic Repository (DGR)
Source: Ontario Power Generation

Ontario Power Generation (OPG) is proposing to construct a long-term management facility called the Deep Geologic Repository (DGR) for OPG’s low- and intermediate-level radioactive wastes. The DGR would be constructed adjacent to the Bruce nuclear site in Tiverton, Ontario. OPG’s DGR would accommodate only low- and intermediate-level waste from OPG-owned or operated generating facilities. Used nuclear fuel would not be managed under this initiative.

Current status: The environmental assessment report for the project was submitted to the Minister of Environment and Climate Change in 2015. The report indicated that, taking into account the implementation of mitigation measures, the project is not likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects. The Minister continues to request additional information from OPG prior to making a final decision on the project. No timeline has been established for the Minister’s decision.

The Nuclear Waste Management Organization’s plan for a deep geologic repository

Conceptual design of NWMO’s Adaptive Phased Management Initiative Source: Nuclear Waste Management Organization

Conceptual design of NWMO’s Adaptive Phased Management Initiative Source: Nuclear Waste Management Organization

The second initiative, a separate project, is the Nuclear Waste Management Organization’s (NWMO) Adaptive Phased Management initiative.

In June 2007, the Government of Canada selected the NWMO’s Adaptive Phased Management (APM) approach as Canada’s plan for the long-term management of used nuclear fuel.The NWMO is conducting a site selection process to select an informed and willing community to host a deep geological repository in a suitable rock formation. The NWMO’s deep geological repository would accommodate all used nuclear fuel in Canada.

Current status: The APM initiative is still in the very early stages and no application has been submitted to the CNSC. However, the CNSC is providing regulatory guidance to the NWMO and is conducting pre-project design reviews of geological repository concepts. The CNSC is also ensuring that potentially affected communities have a comprehensive understanding of its role in regulating Canada’s nuclear sector and in the licensing process for future projects such as this one.

What are the licensing steps for a deep geologic repository?

The CNSC uses a comprehensive licensing system that covers the entire lifecycle of a geological repository – from site preparation to construction, operation, decommissioning (closure and post-closure) and finally, release from CNSC licensing. This approach requires a separate licence at each phase, although the site preparation and site construction licence can be combined.

The CNSC’s regulatory philosophy for radioactive waste stems from the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA) and is articulated in CNSC documents REGDOC 3.5.3, Regulatory Fundamentals, REGDOC 2.11 Framework for Radioactive Waste Management and Decommissionning, and REGDOC 2.11.1 Volume III, Assessing the Long Term Safety of Radioactive Waste Management.

The CNSC can make a licensing decision on a deep geological repository only after the completion of an environmental assessment (EA). An EA is a process for predicting the environmental impacts of proposed initiatives before they are carried out. An EA:

  • identifies and proposes measures for mitigating or avoiding potential adverse environmental effects
  • predicts whether there will be significant adverse environmental effects (after mitigation measures are implemented)
  • may include a follow-up program (to verify the accuracy of the EA and the effectiveness of the mitigation measures)

Did you know?

  • Within the current Government of Canada policy, waste producers and owners are responsible for the funding, management and operation of interim and long-term waste management facilities so that future generations of Canadians are not burdened with the cost. This responsibility is also known as “the polluter pays” principle. One exception is historic waste, for which the Government of Canada assumes responsibility.
  • Sweden and Finland also have initiatives underway to develop geological repositories for used nuclear fuel.
  • Canada’s nuclear power program has produced over 2.8 million used fuel bundles over the past half-century. If these bundles were stacked end to end, they would fit into a space the size of seven hockey rinks stacked to the top of the boards.

How can the public participate in the licensing of geologic repositories?

Licensing and EA processes for geologic repositories
Figure 1: Both the licensing and EA processes allow for ongoing public involvement

The CNSC is committed to transparency. Engaging stakeholders, Indigenous peoples and the public, through a variety of consultation opportunities – set early and well in advance of any submissions for new nuclear projects – ensures effective dialogue and information sharing.

Once a licence application has been received, the review process begins. This process allows opportunities for the public and Indigenous peoples to participate. The CNSC has a duty to consult when Aboriginal and/or treaty rights could be adversely impacted, and recognizes the importance of consulting and building relationships with First Nations and Métis peoples in Canada.

The Commission also holds formal public hearings. Members of the public and Indigenous peoples are welcome to observe these hearings or to actively participate as intervenors.

What is the technical assessment process for licence applications?

CNSC experts and technical specialists conduct a thorough technical assessment of any information submitted by applicants in support of their applications. This assessment is usually carried out with input from other federal, provincial and territorial government departments and agencies responsible for regulating health and safety, environmental protection, emergency preparedness and the transportation of dangerous goods.

The technical assessment focuses on determining whether the proposed design and safety analysis (along with any other required information) complies with regulatory requirements. This review demands rigorous engineering and scientific analyses, taking into consideration the CNSC’s experience and knowledge of best practices in radioactive waste management from existing facilities in Canada and around the world.

As is the case for other nuclear facilities, the licensing of geological repositories in Canada must address the requirements and regulations made under the NSCA – the cornerstone of the CNSC regulatory framework. Licensing must also address the CNSC’s commitment to international standards and best practices, including those of the United Nation’s International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). Canadians can be assured that any geological repository built in Canada will meet the highest standards for health, safety, security and environmental protection.

What kind of research does the CNSC conduct on geologic repositories?

Since 1978, the CNSC has been involved in independent and internationally collaborative research focusing on long-term safety issues related to the disposal of radioactive waste and used nuclear fuel in both crystalline and sedimentary rock formations.

This research program consists of independent scientific research conducted by CNSC staff in collaboration with national and international institutions such as Canadian universities, the BGR (German Geological Survey), the IRSN (Institut de Radioprotection et Sûreté Nucléaire, France) and CANMET (Canada Centre for Mineral and Energy Technology). This collaboration has provided CNSC staff with invaluable experimental data obtained from laboratory and field tests that are used in the development and validation of mathematical models.

The research program also includes the monitoring and critical review of state-of-the-art scientific advancements and staff participation in international fora to exchange information about geological repositories. The program helps in the development and update of regulatory documents that form the basis for CNSC staff recommendations to the Commission on geological repositories for radioactive waste.

How does the CNSC verify compliance at radioactive waste management facilities?

Did you know?

  • The CNSC’s commitment to international standards and best practices ensures that the management of radioactive waste in Canada meets the highest requirements for health, safety, security and environmental protection.
  • Through participation in international forums, the CNSC stays informed of best practices in radioactive waste management.
  • The CNSC ensures that proper security measures are in place for nuclear facilities and that the health of nuclear sector workers is protected.

Once the CNSC issues a licence, the licensee must comply with the requirements of the NSCA and its associated regulations, as well as with the specific conditions of their licence. The CNSC has compliance programs for all regulated nuclear facilities in Canada (including any future deep geological repositories) to ensure that these requirements are respected.

CNSC staff conduct regular site inspections of radioactive waste management facilities to make sure that radioactive waste containment systems remain appropriate and safe, and to ensure that licensees’ radioactive waste-related activities and inventory statistics are properly reported.

Inspectors also perform radiation monitoring and take environmental samples of air quality and liquid effluent in order to verify that facilities operate within the limits established in their licence. The CNSC also performs unannounced inspections.

In conjunction with the CNSC, the IAEA monitors Canada’s used nuclear fuel storage facilities to verify that these facilities comply with Canada’s obligations under the Canada/IAEA safeguards agreements stemming from the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons. These agreements give the IAEA the right and obligation to monitor Canada’s nuclear-related activities, and to verify nuclear material inventories and transactions.

The CNSC works with its licensees to inform them about regulatory expectations and licence requirements. When necessary, the CNSC uses a graded series of enforcement actions to ensure compliance and to protect workers, the public and the environment, and to respect Canada’s international agreements.

How does the CNSC ensure that radioactive waste is transported safely to waste management facilities?

The responsibility for regulating the safe transport of nuclear substances, including radioactive waste, is jointly shared between the CNSC and Transport Canada. Transport Canada’s Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (TDGR) deal with the transport of all classes of dangerous goods, while the CNSC’s Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations (PTNSR) are primarily concerned with the health, safety and security of the public, and the protection of the environment related to the special characteristics of radioactive materials. Both the TDGR and PTNSR apply to all persons who handle, offer for transport, transport or receive nuclear substances.

The basic philosophy guiding the development of the PTNSR is that safety relies heavily on the design of the transport package. Package designs are combined with additional regulatory controls (including labelling, placarding, quality assurance and maintenance records) and allow for radioactive material to be carried safely using any mode of transport, such as road, rail, air and sea transportation.

All nuclear substances are transported in packages selected according to the nature, form and quantity or activity of the substance. General design requirements apply to all package types in order to ensure that they can be handled safely and easily, are secured properly, and are able to withstand routine conditions of transport.

For further information on how the CNSC ensures the safe transport of nuclear substances in Canada, refer to the CNSC fact sheet titled Regulating the Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances in Canada.

What are the CNSC’s international responsibilities for radioactive waste?

As long-term strategies and solutions for the safe management of used nuclear fuel and radioactive waste evolve, the Government of Canada must continue to demonstrate how it meets its international obligations under the terms of the Joint Convention on the Safety of Spent Fuel Management and on the Safety of Radioactive Waste Management.

This international agreement aims to ensure worldwide safe management of used nuclear fuel and radioactive waste – an objective that is achieved through the peer review of a country’s radioactive waste management programs. Every three years, the Government of Canada issues the Canadian National Report for the Joint Convention on the Safety of Spent Fuel Management and on the Safety of Radioactive Waste Management. The CNSC coordinates the preparation of this national report with other Government of Canada departments and the nuclear industry to demonstrate how Canada is meeting its international obligations and to report on its radioactive waste inventories to the IAEA.

Additional Resources

Date modified:

La réglementation des dépôts dans des formations géologiques au Canada

Mars 2019

Télécharger en format PDF

Quelques faits

  • La Politique-cadre en matière de déchets radioactifs de 1996 du gouvernement du Canada définit un ensemble de principes et le contexte national en vue d’une gestion des déchets radioactifs sécuritaire et respectueuse de l’environnement.
  • Les déchets radioactifs se définissent comme toute matière (liquide, gazeuse ou solide) comportant des substances radioactives pour laquelle le propriétaire ne prévoit aucune utilisation et qui est classée comme rebut.
  • Le gouvernement du Canada et le secteur nucléaire élaborent des solutions de gestion à long terme des déchets radioactifs qui préserveront la sûreté, la santé et la sécurité des personnes et protègeront l’environnement.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, de protéger l’environnement, de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire, et d’informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifique ou technique ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire. La CCSN autorise, surveille et inspecte les installations nucléaires au Canada, y compris les installations de gestion des déchets radioactifs. Tous les déchets radioactifs au Canada, notamment le combustible nucléaire usé, sont actuellement conservés dans des installations de stockage provisoires qui sont sûres et sécuritaires et sans danger pour l’environnement.

À titre d’organisme de réglementation nucléaire du Canada, la CCSN est responsable de l’autorisation des dépôts géologiques destinés à la gestion à long terme des déchets radioactifs. Habituellement, un dépôt géologique est construit à plusieurs centaines de mètres ou plus sous la surface, dans une formation rocheuse stable.

Il y a deux projets de dépôt géologique en cours au Canada : le projet de dépôt géologique en profondeur d’Ontario Power Generation (OPG) et le projet de Gestion adaptative progressive (GAP) de la Société de gestion des déchets nucléaires (SGDN).

Le projet de dépôt géologique en profondeur d’Ontario Power Generation

Installation de gestion des déchets Western. Bâtiment du chevalement du puits d'aération. Dolomites (200 m). Schistes (200 m). Calcaires (200 m). sous-sol précambrien.
Définition conceptuelle d’un dépôt dans des formations géologiques profondes Source : Ontario Power Generation

Ontario Power Generation (OPG) propose de construire une installation de gestion à long terme – un dépôt géologique en profondeur (DGP) – pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs de faible et de moyenne activité d’OPG. Le DGP serait situé à côté du complexe nucléaire de Bruce, à Tiverton (Ontario). Le DGP d’OPG ne servirait qu’au stockage de déchets de faible et de moyenne activité provenant des installations nucléaires appartenant à OPG ou exploitées par cette dernière. Le projet ne servirait pas à la gestion du combustible usé.

État actuel : Le rapport d’évaluation environnementale pour le projet a été présenté à la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique en 2015. Le rapport indiquait, compte tenu de la mise en œuvre de mesures d’atténuation, que le projet n’est pas susceptible d’avoir des effets négatifs importants sur l’environnement. La ministre continue de demander d’autres renseignements d’OPG avant de rendre une décision finale sur le projet. Aucune date n’a été fixée pour la décision de la ministre.

Le projet de Gestion adaptative progressive (GAP) de la Société de gestion des déchets nucléaires

Conception d’un dépôt en formations géologiques profondes abritant du combustible nucléaire usé Source: Société de gestion des déchets nucléaires

Définition conceptuelle du projet de Gestion adaptative progressive. Source: Société de gestion des déchets nucléaires

Le deuxième projet – distinct du premier – est le projet de Gestion adaptative progressive (GAP) de la Société de gestion des déchets nucléaires (SGDN).

En juin 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a choisi l’approche de Gestion adaptative progressive (GAP) de la SGDN comme plan canadien de gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire usé. La SGDN a entamé un processus de sélection d’une communauté informée et prête à accueillir l’emplacement d’un dépôt géologique en profondeur (DGP) dans des formations rocheuses adéquates. Le dépôt géologique en profondeur de la SGDN servirait au stockage de tout le combustible nucléaire usé au Canada.

État actuel : L’initiative de GAP n’est qu’au tout début du processus, et aucune demande de permis n’a encore été soumise à la CCSN. Cependant, cette dernière offre à la SGDN de l’orientation en matière de réglementation et procède à l’examen préalable des conceptions de dépôts géologiques. La CCSN veille également à ce que les collectivités potentiellement touchées comprennent bien son rôle dans la réglementation du secteur nucléaire au Canada et le processus d’autorisation de futurs projets comme celui-ci.

Quelles sont les étapes du processus d’autorisation d’un dépôt géologique en profondeur?

La CCSN utilise un système d’autorisation exhaustif qui couvre l’ensemble du cycle de vie d’un dépôt géologique – préparation de l’emplacement, construction, exploitation, déclassement (fermeture et post-fermeture) et levée des permis de la CCSN. Cette approche exige un permis pour chaque étape, mais il est possible de combiner les permis de préparation de l’emplacement et de construction.

La philosophie de la CCSN en matière de réglementation de la gestion à long terme des déchets radioactifs découle de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et est définie dans les documents de la CCSN suivants : REGDOC 3.5.3, Principes fondamentaux de réglementation, REGDOC 2.11, Cadre de gestion des déchets radioactifs et du déclassement, et REGDOC 2.11.1, tome III, Évaluation de la sûreté à long terme de la gestion des déchets radioactifs.

La CCSN ne peut rendre une décision au sujet de l’autorisation d’un DGP que lorsqu’une évaluation environnementale est terminée. Les évaluations environnementales sont utilisées pour prévoir les effets environnementaux des initiatives proposées avant leur réalisation. Une évaluation environnementale :

  • cerne les effets potentiellement négatifs sur l’environnement et propose des mesures pour les éviter ou les atténuer
  • prévoit s’il y aura des effets négatifs importants sur l’environnement (après la mise en œuvre des mesures d’atténuation)
  • comprend un programme de suivi (pour vérifier la justesse de l’évaluation environnementale et l’efficacité des mesures d’atténuation)

Le saviez-vous?

  • Selon la politique actuelle du gouvernement du Canada, les producteurs et les propriétaires de déchets sont responsables du financement, de la gestion et de l’exploitation intérimaire et à long terme des installations de gestion des déchets pour ne pas imposer un fardeau indu aux générations à venir. Ce type de responsabilité est aussi appelé principe du « pollueur-payeur ». Les déchets historiques, qui sont sous la responsabilité du gouvernement du Canada, font exception à cette règle.
  • La Suède et la Finlande ont aussi des projets du même genre en cours afin de construire des dépôts géologiques destinés au combustible nucléaire usé.
  • Le programme nucléaire du Canada a produit plus de 2,8 millions de grappes de combustible usé au cours des 50 dernières années. Si ces grappes étaient mises bout à bout, elles occuperaient l’espace équivalent à sept patinoires de hockey remplies jusqu’au haut de la bande.

Comment le public peut-il participer au processus d’autorisation des dépôts géologiques?

Le processus d'autorisation et d'évaluation environnementale permettent la participation du public
Les processus d’autorisation et d’évaluation environnementale permettent la participation du public

La CCSN s’est engagée à montrer un degré élevé de transparence. En faisant participer les parties intéressées, les groupes autochtones et le public très tôt dans le processus – bien avant le dépôt des demandes relatives aux nouveaux projets nucléaires et en offrant de multiples occasions de consultation – la CCSN favorise le dialogue et l’échange d’information. Le processus d’examen débute dès la réception d’une demande de permis. Ce processus offre au public et aux groupes autochtones plusieurs occasions de participer. La CCSN a aussi le devoir de consulter les collectivités autochtones lorsqu’il pourrait y avoir des répercussions négatives sur leurs droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, et elle reconnaît l’importance de consulter les Premières Nations et les Métis du Canada et de tisser des liens avec eux. La Commission tient aussi des audiences publiques officielles. Les membres du public et les groupes autochtones sont invités à y assister ou à y participer activement à titre d’intervenants.

En quoi consiste le processus d’évaluation technique pour une demande de permis?

Les experts et spécialistes techniques de la CCSN effectuent une évaluation technique approfondie de l’information présentée par les demandeurs. Cette évaluation est habituellement menée en tenant compte des renseignements fournis par d’autres ministères et organismes fédéraux, provinciaux ou territoriaux qui sont responsables de la réglementation de la santé et de la sécurité, de la protection de l’environnement, de la protection civile et du transport des matières dangereuses.

L’évaluation technique vise à déterminer si la conception proposée et l’analyse de sûreté, ainsi que tous les autres renseignements requis, sont conformes aux exigences réglementaires. Cet examen exige des analyses techniques et scientifiques rigoureuses tenant compte de l’expérience et des connaissances de la CCSN en matière de pratiques exemplaires sur la gestion des déchets radioactifs, fondées sur les installations en activité au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

Comme pour d’autres installations nucléaires, le processus d’autorisation des dépôts géologiques au Canada doit prendre en compte les exigences et les règlements découlant de la LSRN – la pierre angulaire du cadre de réglementation de la CCSN. Le processus doit aussi tenir compte de l’engagement de la CCSN à l’égard des normes et des pratiques exemplaires reconnues internationalement, notamment celles de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA). Les Canadiens peuvent être assurés que tout dépôt géologique construit au Canada répondra aux normes les plus élevées en matière de sûreté, de santé, de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement.

Quel genre de recherche la CCSN effectue-t-elle au sujet des dépôts géologiques

>Depuis 1978, la CCSN participe à des activités de recherche collaborative indépendantes et internationales qui portent sur des questions de sûreté à long terme du stockage de déchets radioactifs et de combustible nucléaire usé dans des formations de roche cristalline et de roche sédimentaire.

Ce programme de recherche se compose de recherches scientifiques indépendantes menées par le personnel de la CCSN en collaboration avec des institutions nationales et internationales comme des universités canadiennes, le service géologique allemand (BGR), l’Institut de radioprotection et de sûreté nucléaire (IRSN) de France et le Centre canadien de la technologie des minéraux et de l’énergie (CANMET). Cette collaboration a permis à la CCSN d’obtenir des données expérimentales inestimables dans le cadre d’essais en laboratoire et sur le terrain servant à l’élaboration et à la validation de modèles mathématiques.

Le programme inclut aussi la surveillance et l’examen critique des progrès scientifiques les plus récents, ainsi que la participation du personnel à des forums internationaux leur permettant d’échanger les connaissances sur les dépôts géologiques. Le programme de recherche appuie l’élaboration et la mise à jour de documents d’application de la réglementation sur lesquels s’appuient les recommandations présentées par le personnel de la CCSN à la Commission au sujet des dépôts de déchets radioactifs en formations géologiques.

Comment la CCSN vérifie-t-elle la conformité des installations de gestion des déchets radioactifs?

Le saviez-vous?

  • L’importance qu’accorde la CCSN aux normes et pratiques exemplaires reconnues internationalement lui permet d’assurer que la gestion des déchets radioactifs au Canada répond aux normes les plus élevées en matière de sûreté, de santé et de sécurité, et de protection de l’environnement.
  • La participation à des forums internationaux permet à la CCSN de demeurer au fait des pratiques exemplaires dans le domaine de la gestion des déchets radioactifs.
  • La CCSN veille à ce que des mesures de protection appropriées pour les installations nucléaires soient en place et que la santé des travailleurs du secteur nucléaire soit préservée.

Après l’attribution d’un permis par la CCSN, le titulaire de permis doit se conformer aux exigences de la LSRN et de ses règlements, ainsi qu’aux conditions de son permis. La CCSN met en œuvre des programmes d’assurance de la conformité qui s’appliquent à toutes les installations nucléaires au Canada, y compris les DGP futurs, pour que toutes les exigences soient respectées.

Le personnel de la CCSN effectue des inspections périodiques des installations de gestion des déchets radioactifs afin de s’assurer que les systèmes de confinement des déchets radioactifs demeurent adéquats et sécuritaires et que les activités et les inventaires relatifs aux déchets radioactifs des titulaires de permis font l’objet de rapports appropriés.Les inspecteurs de la CCSN surveillent le rayonnement et analysent des échantillons d’air et d’effluents liquides afin de veiller à ce que les installations respectent les limites établies. La CCSN réalise également des inspections non annoncées.

Avec la collaboration de la CCSN, l’AIEA surveille les installations canadiennes de stockage du combustible nucléaire usé pour vérifier qu’elles sont conformes aux obligations du Canada en vertu des accords conclus entre le Canada et l’AIEA au sujet des garanties découlant du Traité sur la non-prolifération des armes nucléaires. Ces accords attribuent à l’AIEA le droit et l’obligation de surveiller les activités nucléaires canadiennes et de vérifier les inventaires et les transactions de matières nucléaires.

La CCSN collabore avec ses titulaires de permis pour les informer au sujet des attentes réglementaires et des exigences liées aux permis. Au besoin, la CCSN applique une série progressive de mesures d’application de la loi afin de veiller au respect de la conformité, de protéger les travailleurs, le public et l’environnement et de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada.

Comment la CCSN s’assure-t-elle du transport sécuritaire des déchets radioactifs jusqu’aux installations de gestion des déchets?

La CCSN réglemente le transport sécuritaire des substances nucléaires, y compris les déchets radioactifs, en collaboration avec Transports Canada. Le Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (RTMD) de Transports Canada traite du transport de toutes les classes de marchandises dangereuses, alors que le Règlement sur l’emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (RETSN) de la CCSN vise particulièrement la santé et la sécurité du public, ainsi que la protection de l’environnement en fonction des caractéristiques particulières des matières radioactives. Le RTMD et le RETSN s’appliquent à toutes les personnes qui manipulent, offrent de transporter, transportent ou reçoivent des matières nucléaire.

Le principe de base qui guide la formulation du RETSN veut que la sûreté soit intégrée à la conception du colis de transport. Le type de colis est combiné à d’autres contrôles réglementaires, notamment en ce qui concerne l’étiquetage, la signalétique, l’assurance de la qualité et les registres d’entretien, ce qui assure que toutes les matières radioactives sont transportées de manière sécuritaire par n’importe quel moyen de transport, qu’il soit routier, ferroviaire, aérien ou maritime.

Toutes les substances nucléaires sont transportées dans des colis dont le type dépend de la nature, de la forme, de la quantité ou du niveau d’activité de la substance. Des critères généraux de conception s’appliquent à tous les types de colis afin d’assurer qu’ils puissent être manipulés facilement et de manière sécuritaire, être fixés correctement et puissent résister aux conditions normales de transport.

Pour plus d’information sur la façon dont la CCSN assure le transport sécuritaire des substances nucléaires au Canada, veuillez consulter la fiche d’information de la CCSN sur la réglementation de l’emballage et du transport des substances nucléaires au Canada.

Quelles sont les responsabilités internationales de la CCSN en ce qui concerne les déchets radioactifs?

À mesure qu’évoluent les stratégies et les solutions à long terme pour la gestion sécuritaire des déchets radioactifs et du combustible nucléaire usé, le gouvernement du Canada doit continuer de démontrer comment il répond à ses obligations internationales en vertu des modalités de la Convention commune sur la sûreté de la gestion du combustible usé et sur la sûreté de la gestion des déchets radioactifs.

Cet accord international vise à assurer la gestion sécuritaire à l’échelle mondiale du combustible nucléaire usé et des déchets radioactifs – objectif qui est atteint en faisant appel à l’examen par des pairs des programmes de gestion des déchets radioactifs d’un pays. Tous les trois ans, le gouvernement du Canada publie le Rapport national du Canada pour la Convention commune sur la sûreté de la gestion du combustible usé et sur la sûreté de la gestion des déchets radioactifs. La CCSN coordonne la publication de ce rapport national avec d’autres ministères du gouvernement du Canada et avec le secteur nucléaire afin de montrer comment le Canada respecte ses obligations internationales et pour faire connaître ses inventaires de déchets radioactifs à l’AIEA.

Autres ressources

Dernière mise à jour :