Chalk River Laboratories Near Surface Disposal Facility Project

CNSC invites you to open houses in Deep River, ON and Sheenboro, QC

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) will hold open houses in Deep River, ON, and Sheenboro, QC, to provide information on how it regulates the nuclear sector.

Come find out how Canada’s nuclear regulator ensures that nuclear activities and facilities are safe, and talk with CNSC staff about how environmental assessments are conducted. You will also learn about CNSC-licensed facilities and projects in the area and hear more about the CNSC’s upcoming public Commission proceedings.

Deep River, ON – Open house
When: April 26, 2017, 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. and 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.
Where: Deep River Legion, 50 McElligott Drive, Deep River, ON

Sheenboro, QC – Open house
When: April 27, 2017, 6:00 to 8:00 pm
Where: Parish Hall, 59 Chemin Sheenboro, Sheenboro, QC

The Near Surface Disposal Facility (NSDF) is a proposed engineered disposal facility for radioactive waste planned for the Chalk River Laboratories site (CRL). The CRL site is located in Renfrew County, ON, on the shore of the Ottawa River, approximately 200 km northwest of Ottawa. The site is situated within the boundaries of the Corporation of the Town of Deep River.

The NSDF is planned to have an operating life of at least 50 years and as proposed, would be an engineered mound built at near-surface level on the CRL site. The proposed project would also include a wastewater treatment plant and supporting infrastructure. All waste to be disposed at the NSDF will be required to meet the waste acceptance criteria established to assure compliance with operational and long-term safety requirements.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, the NSDF proposal by Canadian Nuclear Laboratories requires authorization by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC). The CNSC has determined that the project requires a federal environmental assessment (EA) pursuant to the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012.  An EA under CEAA 2012 is a planning and decision-making tool. Its objectives are to minimize or avoid adverse environmental effects before they occur, and incorporate environmental factors into decision making. An EA decision affirming that the proposed activities will not cause significant adverse environmental effects is also required before the CNSC can make a licensing decision on this proposal.

On March 8, 2017, the Commission issued a decision on the extent of information to be included in the EA. The decision took into account the public comments received related to the project description, as well as CNSC staff recommendations. The Commission determined that the proposed project must include the factors mandated in paragraphs 19(1)(a) to (h) of CEAA 2012, with no additional factors requiring consideration.

Licensing progress details

Project milestone

Date

Status

Commission hearing for environmental assessment and licensing authorization decisions

Estimated for January 2018 (to be determined by Secretariat)

 

Public comments invited on CNSC licensing Commission member document

Estimated for November, 2017

Comment period will be open for 60 days

Public comments invited on CNSC environmental assessment report

Estimated for November, 2017

Comment period will be open for 60 days

CNSC technical assessment of licensing documentation and environmental impact statement

Expected April to August, 2017

 

NSDF licensing submission

Expected March 31, 2017

 

Public comments invited on CNL's draft environmental impact statement (source: CEAA website)

March 17, 2017

Comment period open until May 17

Public comments invited on revised project description (source: CEAA website)

October 19, 2016

Comment period was open from October 19 to November 18

CNSC notification of requirement for CNL to decide on project scope

September 15, 2016

Complete

Notice of participant funding offering

May 25, 2016

Participant funding was open from May 25 to September 2

Public comments invited on project description (source: CEAA website)

May 24, 2016

Comment period was open from May 24 to June 24

Notice of commencement of an environmental assessment (source: CEAA website)

May 5, 2016

Complete

Additional Information

Projet d'installation de gestion des déchets près de la surface aux Laboratoires de Chalk River

Le projet d'installation de gestion des déchets près de la surface vise à aménager une installation de gestion des déchets radioactifs sur le site des Laboratoires de Chalk River (LCR). Le site des LCR se trouve dans le comté de Renfrew (Ontario), sur les berges de la rivière des Outaouais, à environ 200 kilomètres au nord-ouest d'Ottawa. Il fait partie de la Corporation de la ville de Deep River.

Il est prévu que l'installation aura une durée de vie d'au moins 50 ans et, comme il a été proposé, serait composée d'un monticule artificiel construit près de la surface sur le site des LCR. Le projet proposé comprendrait également une usine de traitement des eaux usées et des infrastructures de soutien. Tous les déchets éliminés à l'installation devront respecter les critères d'acceptation des déchets établis pour assurer le respect des exigences en matière de sûreté opérationnelles et à long terme.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, ce projet proposé par les Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens requiert une approbation par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN). La CCSN a déterminé que le projet doit faire l'objet d'une évaluation environnementale (EE) fédérale menée en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (2012). Une telle EE constitue un outil de planification et de prise de décision. Elle a pour but d'atténuer ou d'éviter les effets environnementaux négatifs avant qu'ils surviennent et d'intégrer des facteurs environnementaux dans la prise de décision. Avant que la CCSN puisse rendre une décision d'autorisation concernant ce projet proposé, une décision sur l'EE devra confirmer que les activités n'auront pas de répercussions graves sur l'environnement. 

Le 8 mars 2017, la Commission a pris une décision sur l’étendue de l’information à inclure dans l’EE. La décision tient compte des commentaires du public concernant la description du projet, ainsi que des recommandations du personnel de la CCSN. La Commission a déterminé que le projet proposé doit inclure les éléments énoncés aux alinéas 19(1)a) à h) de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012), sans autres éléments supplémentaires à examiner.

Processus de délivrance des permis

Jalon du projet

Date

État

Audience de la Commission concernant l'évaluation environnementale et les décisions d'autorisation

Prévue pour janvier 2018 (à déterminer par le Secrétariat)

 

Sollicitation de commentaires du public sur le document à l'intention des commissaires au sujet de la délivrance de permis par la CCSN

Prévue pour novembre 2017

La période de commentaires durera 60 jours

Sollicitation de commentaires du public sur le rapport d'évaluation environnementale de la CCSN

Prévue pour novembre 2017

La période de commentaires durera 60 jours

Évaluation technique de la CCSN des documents liés au permis et de l'énoncé des incidences environnementales

Prévue d'avril à août 2017

 

Demande de permis pour l'Installation de gestion des déchets près de la surface

Prévue le 31 mars 2017

 

Sollicitation de commentaires du public sur l'ébauche de l'énoncé des incidences environnementales (source : site Web de l'ACEE)

le 17 mars 2017

La période de consultation est en vigueur jusqu'au 17 mai

Sollicitation de commentaires du public sur la description de projet révisée (source : site Web de l'ACEE)

19 octobre 2016

La période de commentaires s'est déroulée du 24 mai au 24 juin

Lettre de la CCSN avisant les LNC qu'ils doivent établir la portée de leur projet

15 septembre 2016

Terminé

Offre de financement des participants

25 mai 2016

L'offre de financement des participants était en vigueur du 25 mai au 2 septembre

Sollicitation de commentaires du public sur la description de projet (source: site Web de l'ACEE)

24 mai 2016

La période de commentaires s'est déroulée du 24 mai au 24 juin

Avis de lancement d'une évaluation environnementale (source: site Web de l'ACEE)

5 mai 2016

Terminé

Renseignements supplémentaires