Addressing Severe Accidents Through Design Extension Conditions and Severe Accident Management

Abstract of the technical presentation presented at:
The 2018 International Severe Accident Management Conference (ISAMC-2018) and
the 7th International Workshop on CANDU Safety Association for Sustainability (CANSAS-2018)
October 15–18, 2018

Prepared by:
Noreddine Mesmous
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Abstract:

This technical presentation summarizes Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) requirements and guidance on design extension conditions (DEC) and severe accident management (SAM).

The presentation is based on the following CNSC regulatory documents:

  • REGDOC-2.5.2, Design of Reactor Facilities: Nuclear Power Plants, May 2014
  • REGDOC-2.3.2, Accident Management, Version 2, September 2015
  • REGDOC-2.4.1, Deterministic Safety Analysis, May 2014

CNSC REGDOC-2.5.2, Design of Reactor Facilities: Nuclear Power Plants, requires that the design be such that plant states that could lead to significant radioactive releases are practically eliminated. Practical elimination recognizes that the possibility of certain conditions or accidents is either physically impossible or judged with a high level of confidence to be extremely unlikely.

CNSC REGDOC-2.3.2, Accident Management, Version 2 sets the requirements and guidance for accident management, including severe accident management (SAM).

CNSC REGDOC-2.4.1, Deterministic Safety Analysis, requires that a safety assessment for beyond-design-basis accidents (BDBAs) be performed to demonstrate that the nuclear power plant as designed can meet the requirements for release limits established as the safety goals.

In summary, CNSC regulatory requirements ensure that the aspects and provisions applicable to DEC and SAM implementation are adequately addressed. CNSC review and evaluation of licensees’ SAM programs is an important activity for verifying compliance with the requirements.

Key words: Accident management, severe accidents, design extension conditions

To obtain a copy of the abstract’s document, please contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Gérer les accidents graves à l’aide des conditions d’extension du dimensionnement et de la gestion des accidents graves

Résumé de la présentation technique prévue pour les :
Congrès international de 2018 sur la gestion des accidents graves (CIGAG 2018) et 7e atelier international de la CANDU Safety Association for Sustainability (CANSAS 2018)
Du 15 au 18 octobre 2018

Écrit par 
Noreddine Mesmous
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Résumé

Nous résumons dans cette présentation technique les exigences et l’orientation de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) à l’égard des conditions d’extension du dimensionnement et de la gestion des accidents graves (GAG).

La présentation s’appuie sur les documents d’application de la réglementation de la CCSN suivants :

  • REGDOC-2.5.2, Conception d’installations dotées de réacteurs : Centrales nucléaires, mai 2014
  • REGDOC-2.3.2, Gestion des accidents, version 2, septembre 2015
  • REGDOC-2.4.1, Analyse déterministe de la sûreté, mai 2014

.Le REGDOC-2.5.2, Conception d’installations dotées de réacteurs : Centrales nucléaires de la CCSN stipule que la conception des centrales doit éliminer, en pratique, tout état qui pourrait entraîner des rejets radioactifs considérables, ce qui signifie que l’occurrence de certaines conditions ou accidents est soit physiquement impossible, soit jugée, avec un niveau de confiance élevé, extrêmement improbable.

Le REGDOC-2.3.2, Gestion des accidents, version 2 de la CCSN établit les exigences et l’orientation relatives à la gestion des accidents, y compris la GAG.

Aux termes du REGDOC-2.4.1, Analyse déterministe de la sûreté de la CCSN, une évaluation de la sûreté des accidents hors dimensionnement doit être réalisée afin de démontrer que la centrale nucléaire, telle qu’elle est conçue, peut respecter les exigences relatives aux limites de rejet établies en tant qu’objectifs de sûreté.

Pour résumer, les exigences réglementaires de la CCSN visent à ce que les aspects et les dispositions nécessaires à la mise en œuvre des conditions d’extension du dimensionnement et de la GAG soient gérés de manière appropriée. L’examen et l’évaluation par la CCSN des programmes de GAG des titulaires de permis sont essentiels à la vérification de la conformité aux exigences.

Mots-clésU
Gestion des accidents, accidents graves, conditions d’extension du dimensionnement

Pour obtenir une copie du document associé au résumé, nous vous invitons à communiquer avec nous par courriel à cnsc.info.ccsn@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 613‑995‑5894 ou au 1-800-668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez nous indiquer le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :