IRIS – 2012 Benchmark, Parts I and II

IRIS 2012 Benchmark

Part I: Overview and summary of the results
Part II: Lessons learned and recommendations

Part I: Overview and summary of the results

An abstract of the technical paper presented at:
SMiRT-22
San Francisco, California, USA
August 18–23, 2013

Prepared by:
Nebojsa Orbovic1, François Tarallo2, Jean-Mathieu Rambach3 and Andrei Blahoianu4

1Technical Specialist, CNSC-CCSN, Ottawa, ON, Canada 2 Civil Engineering Expert
2IRSN, France
3Dr-Engineer, Civil Engineering Expert, IRSN, France
4Director, CNSC-CCSN, Ottawa, ON, Canada

Abstract

A benchmark of numerical simulations of projectile impacts on reinforced concrete (RC) slabs has been launched in the frame of OECD/NEA/CSNI research program under the acronym IRIS. The goal of the research program is to simulate RC structural, flexural and punching behavior under soft and hard missile impact. The first phase the IRIS_2010 was a blind prediction of the tests performed ant VTT facility in Espoo, Finland. The results showed significant scatter of the results for both flexural and punching simulation. The IRIS_2012 is the second, post-test phase of the benchmark with the goal to improve simulations and reduce the scatter of the results. Based on the IRIS_2010 recommendations and to better calibrate concrete constitutive models, a series of tri-axial tests as well as Brazilian tests were performed as a part of the IRIS_2012 benchmark. 25 teams from 11 countries took part in this exercise. The majority of participants were part of the IRIS_2010 benchmark. Participants showed significant improvement in reducing epistemic uncertainties in impact simulations. Several teams presented both finite element (FE) and simplified analysis as per recommendations of the IRIS_2010. The improvements were at the level of simulation results but also at the level of understanding of impact phenomena and its modeling. However, due to the complexity of the physical phenomena and its simulation (high geometric and material non-linear behavior) and inherent epistemic and aleatory uncertainties, the scatter remains important especially comparing to conventional, linear structural engineering analysis.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, contact the CNSC. When contacting the CNSC, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Part II: Lessons learned and recommendations

An abstract of the technical paper presented at:
SMiRT-22
San Francisco, California, USA
August 18–23, 2013

Prepared by:
Nebojsa Orbovic1, François Tarallo2, Jean-Mathieu Rambach3 and Andrei Blahoianu4

1Technical Specialist, CNSC-CCSN, Ottawa, ON, Canada 2 Civil Engineering Expert
2IRSN, France
3Dr-Engineer, Civil Engineering Expert, IRSN, France
4Director, CNSC-CCSN, Ottawa, ON, Canada

Abstract

A benchmark of numerical simulations of projectile impacts on reinforced concrete slabs has been carried out in the frame of OECD/NEA under the acronym IRIS_2012. That exercise enlightened the conditions under which some 25 teams using various calculation codes could analyze the dynamic behavior of concrete slabs impacted by either deformable or rigid missiles.

Due to the fast dynamic nature of the solicitation and to the non-linear nature of the concrete, there is an inherent scatter of the results well beyond the scatter of an elastic analysis. Thus, for better understanding and modeling of the physical phenomena involved, a combination of testing and simulation is mandatory. Despite the scatter of the results, the benchmark has pointed out a number of sound methods and numerous skilled teams among the participants, leading to recommendations of good practice. Simplified analyses, with engineering attitude, have to be systematically adopted in parallel to the necessarily sophisticated simulations because those analyses allow quick sensitivity studies and better understanding and simulating of the basic phenomena by the engineers. The results of a numerical simulation should be accompanied by an appropriate margin taking into account the accuracy range of the analysis. A future objective is to continue to enhance existing models, so that their coefficient of variation would be less than 20 percent. The next phase of benchmarking will be focused on induced vibrations. The privileged way is the definition and performing of a precision test and its simulation through benchmarking that allows the multiplicity of models and the benefits of their inter-comparison.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, please contact us at info@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada).  When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

IRIS – 2012 Benchmark – Partie I et II

Activité IRIS 2012

Partie I : Vue d'ensemble et sommaire des résultats
Partie II : Leçons retenues et recommandations

Partie I : Vue d'ensemble et sommaire des résultats

Résumé d'un document technique présenté à la :
SMiRT-22
San Francisco (Californie), États-Unis
Du 18 au 23 août 2013

Préparé par :
Nebojsa Orbovic1, François Tarallo2, Jean-Mathieu Rambach3 et Andrei Blahoianu4

1Spécialiste technique, CCSN, Ottawa (Ontario), Canada
2Expert en génie civil, IRSN, France
3Docteur en génie, expert en génie civil, IRSN, France
4Directeur, CCSN, Ottawa (Ontario,) Canada

Résumé

Une série de simulations numériques de référence sur l'impact des projectiles sur des dalles de béton armé (BA) a été lancée dans le cadre d'un programme de recherche dans le cadre de l'OCDE/AEN/CSIN, appelé IRIS. Le programme de recherche a pour but de simuler le comportement structural, la flexion et la performation des dalles en béton armé sous l'impact d'un missile dur (rigide) ou mou (déformable). La première phase d'IRIS_2010 visait à simuler à l'aveugle les essais effectués dans l'installation VTT à Espoo, en Finlande. Il y avait dispersion importante des résultats de simulation, à la fois pour les simulations des tests de flexion et pour des tests de perforation. L'activité IRIS_2012, constituant la deuxième phase post-essai de l'activité de référence, visait à améliorer les simulations et à réduire la dispersion des résultats. D'après les recommandations de l'activité IRIS_2010 et pour mieux étalonner les lois de comportement du béton, une série d'essais triaxiaux, ainsi que des essais brésiliens ont été effectuées dans le cadre de l'activité IRIS_2012. Vingt-cinq équipes de 11 pays ont pris part à ces essais. La majorité des participants faisaient partie de l'activité IRIS_2010. Les participants se sont considérablement améliorés dans la réduction des incertitudes épistémiques dans la modélisation d'impact. Plusieurs équipes ont présenté à la fois une analyse EF et une analyse simplifiée selon les recommandations de l'IRIS_2010. Les améliorations ont eu lieu non seulement sur le plan des résultats, mais aussi sur le plan de la compréhension des phénomènes liés à l'impact et de leur modélisation. Cependant, en raison de la complexité des phénomènes physiques et de leur simulation (comportement hautement non linéaire géométrique et non linéarité des matériaux) et d'incertitudes épistémiques et aléatoires inhérentes, la dispersion demeure importante comparetivement à une analyse structurale linéaire.

Pour obtenir une copie du document relatif au résumé, communiquez avec la CCSN. Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Partie II : Leçons retenues et recommandations

Résumé d'un document technique présenté à la :
SMiRT-22
San Francisco (Californie), États-Unis
Du 18 au 23 août 2013

Préparé par :
Nebojsa Orbovic1, François Tarallo2, Jean-Mathieu Rambach3 et Andrei Blahoianu4

1Spécialiste technique, CCSN, Ottawa (Ontario), Canada
2Expert en génie civil, IRSN, France
3Docteur en génie, expert en génie civil, IRSN, France
4Directeur, CCSN, Ottawa (Ontario), Canada

Résumé

Une série de simulations numériques de référence sur l'impact de projectiles sur des dalles de béton armé a été réalisée dans le cadre de l'AEN/OCDE, sous le nom d'IRIS_2012. Cet exercice a mis en lumière les conditions dans lesquelles quelque 25 équipes utilisant divers codes de calcul pouvaient analyser le comportement dynamique des dalles de béton sous l'impact d'un missile déformable ou rigide.

En raison de la nature rapide et dynamique de la demande et de la nature non linéaire du béton, il existe une dispersion inhérente des résultats bien au-delà de la diffusion d'une analyse élastique. Par conséquent, pour mieux comprendre et modéliser les phénomènes physiques en jeu, il faut obligatoirement combiner les essais et la simulation. L'exercice de référence a également mis en lumière un certain nombre de méthodes fiables parmi les équipes compétentes, ce qui a mené à des recommandations de bonnes pratiques. Des analyses simplifiées avec une approche d'ingénieur doivent être adoptées systématiquement en parallèle avec des simulations complexes, car ces analyses permettent aux ingénieurs de réaliser des études de sensibilité et de mieux comprendre et simuler les phénomènes de base. Les résultats d'une simulation numérique doivent être accompagnés d'une marge appropriée qui tient compte de la marge d'erreur de l'analyse. Un des objectifs futurs consiste à continuer à perfectionner les modèles existants pour que leur coefficient de variation des résultats soit inférieur à 20 %. La prochaine phase de l'exercice de référence sera axée sur les vibrations induites dans la structure sous l'impact d'un missile. La méthode privilégiée consiste à définir et à effectuer un « essai de précision » et à le simuler en établissant des paramètres de référence qui permettent de modéliser correctement le comportement les vibrations structurales induites et de mieux appréhender leurs conséquences.

Pour obtenir une copie du document relatif au résumé, veuillez communiquer avec nous à info@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca ou en composant le 613-995-5894 ou le 1-800-668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :