CNSC approach to the review of reactor core thermalhydraulic design for new nuclear power plants

Abstract of the technical paper presented to:
11th International Conference on CANDU Fuel
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
October 17–20, 2010

Prepared by:
Yujun Guo, Naj Hammouda, Haldun Tezel and Michel Couture
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Canadian Nuclear Society, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Abstract

In recent years, several provinces in Canada have shown increasing interest in building new nuclear power plants to meet their energy needs. In particular, Ontario province has taken an action to invite vendors to a bidding process, and this action has attracted various reactor designs including ACR in Canada, AP-1000 in the US and EPR in France. In response to this move, the federal nuclear watchdog, The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC), has taken a number of steps to ensure that the regulator is ready to respond to licensing requests from vendors with various nuclear power plant designs.

One of the preparatory activities is the development of regulatory document RD-337 whose purpose is to set out the expectations of the CNSC with respect to the design of new water-cooled nuclear power plants, aligning the principles set forth by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in NS-R-1, Safety of Nuclear Power Plants: Design, with Canada specific expectations. RD-337 was approved by the Commission and issued in November 2008.

Other preparatory activities, which are either completed or under development, include the document of Construction Licence Applications for Nuclear Power Plants: Guidelines (CLAGs) and the Staff Review Procedures (SRPs). CLAGs is a document that describes the scope of the CNSC staff review and the information that is required to be submitted in an application for a licence to construct a nuclear power plant. SRPs are being written for all phases of the licensing process, including the environmental assessment, the licence to prepare site and the licence to construct (SRPs for a licence to operate will be prepared in the future). These SRPs outline the principal technical criteria that will guide staff in determining the adequacy of the submissions. For the licence to construct, the SRPs include a number of review procedures covering all aspects of the nuclear power plant design.

This paper discusses the Review Procedure on Core Thermalhydraulic Design, which is part of the CNSC SRPs for a licence to construct, documenting the CNSC expectations with respect to the reactor core thermalhydraulic design. The contents of this paper consist of a definition of the topical areas of review, a concept of thermalhydraulic safety limits, a description of the review criteria, a list of the information and the data expected in the licensee's application and an outline of the review procedures. While practical, these contents are presented in a manner that is technology neutral for water-cooled reactor designs including PWRs and CANDUs. Separate discussions are provided for the areas that are design specific. The intent of this paper is to inform applicants of the newly established review processes at the CNSC and to state the CNSC expectations on future construction application submissions.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, contact the CNSC. When contacting the CNSC, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Approche de la CCSN pour l'examen de la conception thermohydraulique du coeur d'un réacteur pour les nouvelles centrales nucléaires

Résumé du document technique présenté à la :
11e Conférence internationale sur le combustible CANDU
Niagara Falls (Ontario), Canada
Du 17 au 20 octobre 2010

Rédigé par :
Yujun Guo, Naj Hammouda, Haldun Tezel et Michel Couture
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, Ottawa (Ontario), Canada
Société Nucléaire Canadienne, Toronto (Ontario), Canada

Résumé

Au cours des dernières années, plusieurs provinces du Canada ont fait part d'un intérêt croissant pour la construction de nouvelles centrales nucléaires afin de répondre à leurs besoins en énergie. Plus particulièrement, la province de l'Ontario a pris des mesures en vue d'inviter les fournisseurs à un processus de soumissions. Cette mesure a donné lieu à la présentation de diverses conceptions de réacteurs, y compris le ACR au Canada, le AP-1000 au États-Unis et le EPR en France. Pour répondre à ce mouvement, l'organisme de réglementation nucléaire du Canada, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN), a pris plusieurs mesures afin d'être prête à traiter les demandes de permis des fournisseurs de diverses conceptions de réacteur.

Une des activités préparatoires est l'élaboration du document d'application de la réglementation RD-337, dont l'objectif consiste à préciser les attentes de la CCSN à l'égard de la conception de nouvelles centrales nucléaires refroidies à l'eau. Ce document s'aligne sur les principes établis par l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA) dans sa norme NS-R-1, Sûreté des centrales nucléaires : Conception, et contient des exigences spécifiques au Canada. Le document RD-337 a été approuvé par la Commission et publié en novembre 2008.

D'autres activités préparatoires, qui sont soit terminées, soit en cours d'élaboration, comprennent les Lignes directrices pour les demandes de permis de construction d'une centrale nucléaire (LDDPC) et les Processus d'examen pour le personnel (PEP). Les LDDPC sont un document qui décrit la portée de l'examen effectué par le personnel de la CCSN et l'information qui doit être soumise dans une demande de permis de construction d'une centrale nucléaire. Des PEP sont rédigés pour toutes les étapes du processus d'autorisation, notamment l'évaluation environnementale, le permis de préparation de l'emplacement et le permis de construction (les PEP pour le permis d'exploitation seront bientôt préparés). Ces PEP expliquent les principaux critères techniques qui guideront le personnel dans sa détermination du caractère adéquat des demandes. En ce qui concerne le permis de construction, certains des PEP couvrent tous les aspects de la conception d'une centrale nucléaire.

Le présent document discute du processus d'examen de la conception thermohydraulique du cœur. Ce processus d'examen fait partie des PEP pour la demande de permis de construction et décrit les attentes de la CCSN à l'égard de la conception thermohydraulique du cœur du réacteur. Le contenu de ce document comprend une définition des domaines particuliers de l'examen, le concept de limites de sûreté en matière de thermohydraulique, une description des critères d'examen, une liste de l'information et des données à inclure dans la demande du titulaire de permis et un aperçu du processus d'examen. Ce contenu est présenté, bien qu'il soit pratique, d'une manière qui est neutre sur le plan technologique pour les conceptions de réacteurs refroidis à l'eau, comme les réacteurs à eau sous pression et les réacteurs CANDU. Ce document a pour objectif d'informer les demandeurs des nouveaux processus d'examen établis à la CCSN et d'énoncer les attentes de la CCSN relativement aux futures demandes de permis de construction.

Pour obtenir une copie du document relatif au résumé, communiquez avec la CCSN. Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :