Heterogeneous 3-D SN transport reactor calculations using ATTILA

Abstract of the technical presented to: 
Joint International Conference on Supercomputing in Nuclear Applications and Monte Carlo 2010 (SNA + MC2010)
Tokyo, Japan
October 17-20, 2010

Prepared by:
Robert Pawel Rulkoa, Mohamed Belalb, Djordje Ilija Tomasevicb
a Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
b Nuclear Energy Corporation of South Africa,  Pretoria 0001, South Africa

Abstract

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is preparing to license diverse reactor technologies (CANDU, LWR, small/research reactors), if required. This implies the need to strengthen its means of independent nuclear design verifications. To this end, the CNSC has acquired the Attila SN transport code to serve as an effective tool in the design review of new reactors, licensing analysis of CANDU and small/research reactors (NRU, MNR, and SLOWPOKE).

In this paper, we are presenting 3-D large scale parallel benchmark calculations of a small PWR with MOX using Attila SN transport code and their comparison to MCNP Monte Carlo. Our benchmark is that of Nam Zin Cho et al [Nam Zin Cho et al, Whole-Core Heterogeneous Transport Calculations and Their Comparison with Diffusion Results, Trans American Nucl Soc, Vol.83, Washington D.C, November 12-16 (2000)]. Our SN calculations performed on a dual core four processors HP desktop workstation (xw9400 WS, 64Opteron AMD) transform Cho's et al benchmark into a new 3-D hexagonal geometry heterogeneous benchmark. In addition, they provide an evaluation of Attila code in complex calculations of power reactor core with MOX and hence confirm its potential for use as a reference reactor design tool as well as a benchmarking tool in licensing applications.

In this benchmark, we computed the keff using Attila in configuration with Control Rods IN as well as generated the assembly and pin powers. The pins selected were fuel and burnable absorber pins extending diagonally from core center across different MOX enrichment zones and the neighbouring UOX assembly, i.e., the pins placed in strong transport boundary layer effect zones. As a reference solution, the Monte Carlo MCNP calculations were obtained. The MCNP model was identical to Attila model to assure consistency.

The results show that the full core parallel heterogeneous 3-D SN transport calculations of a power reactor are feasible on a small desktop workstation with four processors. Our keff results are of benchmark quality and are within 0.06 percent (60ppm) relative difference to MCNP reference result (0.9990). The assembly and pin power results are equally impressive. These results validate the Attila code for nuclear design work and licensing verification. In addition, details of generating the 3D Attila SN solution of the benchmark, performance of solver numerical options and convergence performance of Attila's linearly discontinuous finite element scheme subject to different acceleration techniques are given.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, contact the CNSC. When contacting the CNSC, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Calculs Hétérogènes 3-D des effets de transport dans les réacteurs, au moyen d’ATTILA

Résumé du document technique présenté au :
Joint International Conference on Supercomputing in Nuclear Applications and
Monte Carlo 2010 (SNA + MC2010)
Tokyo, Japan
Du 17 au 20 octobre 2010

Rédigé par :
Robert Pawel Rulkoa, Mohamed Belalb et Djordje Ilija Tomasevicb
a Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, Ottawa (Ontario), Canada K1P 5S9
b Nuclear Energy Corporation of South Africa, Pretoria 0001, Afrique du sud

Résumé

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) se prépare à octroyer des permis, au besoin, pour diverses technologies concernant les réacteurs (CANDU, REO, petits réacteurs ou réacteurs de recherche). Elle devra donc renforcer ses moyens de vérification indépendante des types de réacteur. À cette fin, la CCSN a fait l’acquisition du code de simulation Attila SN comme outil d’examen de la conception des nouveaux réacteurs et d’analyse des demandes de permis pour les réacteurs CANDU ainsi que pour les petits réacteurs et réacteurs de recherche (NRU, MNR et SLOWPOKE).

Dans la présente communication, nous présentons des calculs de référence parallèles 3-D à grande échelle pour un petit réacteur à eau sous pression (REP) utilisant un combustible MOX; les calculs ont été effectués avec le code de comparaison Attila SN et sont comparés à des calculs effectués avec le code MCNP. Nos calculs de référence sont ceux de Nam Zin Cho et al. [Nam Zin Cho et al., « Whole-Core Heterogeneous Transport Calculations and Their Comparison with Diffusion Results », Trans American Nucl Soc, Vol.83, Washington D.C, 12-16 November 2000]. Nos calculs, qui ont été effectués sur un ordinateur de bureau HP à quatre processeurs dual core (xw9400 WS, 64Opteron AMD), transforment les calculs de référence de Cho et al. en de nouveaux calculs de référence hétérogènes à géométrie hexagonale 3-D. Ils permettent en outre d’évaluer le code Attila dans des calculs complexes sur le cœur d’un réacteur à combustible MOX et confirment que ce code peut être utilisé comme outil de référence pour la conception des réacteurs ainsi que pour l’analyse des demandes de permis.
Dans les présents calculs de référence, nous avons calculé le facteur de multiplication effectif (keff) à l’aide d’Attila avec les barres de commande ENFONCÉES, et avons obtenu les puissances dans l’assemblage et les barres. Les barres choisies étaient des barres de
combustible et des barres d’absorption consommables montées en diagonale à partir du centre du cœur et traversant différentes zones d’enrichissement du combustible MOX et l’assemblage d’oxyde d’uranium voisin, et elles étaient donc placées dans des couches limites à effets de transport importants. Comme solution de référence, on a effectué un calcul MCNP. Les résultats des modèles MCNP et Attila étaient identiques, de sorte qu’il y a cohérence.

Les résultats montrent que les calculs hétérogènes parallèles 3-D des effets de transport à la grandeur du cœur d’un réacteur de puissance peuvent être exécutés sur un petit ordinateur de bureau à quatre processeurs. Nos résultats pour keff peuvent servir de référence et ne diffèrent que de 0,06 % (60 ppm) des résultats MCNP de référence (0,9990). Les résultats obtenus pour les puissances dans l’assemblage et les barres sont tout aussi impressionnants. Ils valident le code Attila pour la conception d’installations nucléaires et l’analyse des demandes de permis. De plus, on présente de façon détaillée la solution de référence Attila 3-D, la performance des options numériques du résolveur, et la convergence de la méthode d’éléments finis à discontinuités linéaires d’Attila dans différentes techniques d’accélération.

Pour obtenir une copie du document relatif au résumé, communiquez avec la CCSN. Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :