Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) Annual Report 2007-08

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is committed to independent regulation of Canada's nuclear sector, helping to ensure that Canadian nuclear facilities are among the safest and most secure in the world.

CNSC is meeting the challenge of the increasing demand for nuclear energy by ensuring that related growth is well managed and regulated. Through rigorous licensing and compliance processes, CNSC carries out its regulatory oversight responsibilities to assure that nuclear facilities throughout Canada are safe and secure and that the health of Canadians and the environment remain a top priority. CNSC also cooperates with domestic and international partners to promote Canada's full participation in establishing and maintaining best practices for the peaceful use of nuclear energy and materials.

CNSC pledges to Canadians that the country's nuclear regulatory processes will remain strong and effective and that their health, safety, security and the environment will be protected.

Letter to the Minister

The Honourable Lisa Raitt
Minister of Natural Resources Canada
Ottawa, Ontario

Madam:

I have the honour of presenting you with the Annual Report of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2008. The report has been prepared and is submitted in accordance with Section 72 of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act.

Michael Binder
Michael Binder
President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Message from the President


Michael Binder

It is with great pleasure that I present the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) 2007-08 annual report, my first since being appointed as the organization's President.

The year saw many significant accomplishments for CNSC. We set out to improve relationships with our stakeholders; streamlined and strengthened the regulatory framework; reallocated resources to address the growing interest in new nuclear power plants; established a working group to improve Aboriginal consultations; and laid new foundations for investing in employee development. These are just a few examples of the excellent work CNSC has undertaken over the past year to enhance the safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

The nuclear sector is forecasting significant growth in the coming years as a result of the continuing rise in global demand for energy and the need to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Combined with the increasing use of nuclear technology in industry, research and medicine, this nuclear renaissance is bringing about a considerable increase in the need for regulatory oversight - especially in areas such as licensing for nuclear fuel mining and processing facilities.

The increase in Canadian energy requirements is occurring at a time when the country's fleet of existing nuclear power plants is aging. It is therefore not surprising that CNSC is receiving a significant number of plans to refurbish and extend the life of existing plants, and to build new nuclear power plants to meet energy demands. CNSC is refocusing its efforts to respond to these developments and the related growth in proposed plans for new uranium mining and processing.

On the international front, CNSC continues to actively participate in the activities of the International Atomic Energy Agency and the Nuclear Energy Agency. These fora provide opportunities to share best practices in nuclear safety and strengthen Canada's commitments to non-proliferation and the peaceful use of nuclear materials.

In late 2007, the extended shutdown of the National Research Universal (NRU) reactor in Chalk River resulted in concerns about the supply of isotopes that are used for medical diagnostics and treatments. As a result, the government has issued a new directive to CNSC to ensure that the health of Canadians is taken into account in CNSC licensing decisions. This incident has led CNSC and Atomic Energy of Canada Limited to jointly commission a review by an independent third party. The review identified a number of critical lessons and provided recommendations for improvement, which will be reviewed and implemented by CNSC.

In the short time since my arrival, I have been impressed by the expertise and dedication of CNSC's workforce. Going forward, the recruitment and retention of skilled staff will remain an important priority for CNSC. We will be strengthening our staffing efforts in a highly competitive market to respond to industry growth needs.

In my role as CNSC's President and Chief Executive Officer, I am committed to assuring Canadians that the use of nuclear materials in nuclear facilities is safe and secure.

With respect,

Michael Binder

Michael Binder

Commission Tribunal Members


Michael Binder
Michael Binder
President and Chief Executive Officer,
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
Ottawa, Ontario
Named as a permanent Commission member on January 15, 2008
Dr. Christopher R. Barnes
Dr. Christopher R. Barnes
Professor, School of Earth and Ocean Sciences, University of Victoria
Victoria, British Columbia
Named as a permanent Commission member on January 23, 1996
Dr. Ronald J. Barriault
Dr. Ronald J. Barriault
Physician, Restigouche Regional Health Authority
Charlo, New Brunswick
Named as a permanent Commission member on December 3, 2007
Dr. James A. Dosman
Dr. James A. Dosman
Director, Institute of Agricultural Rural
and Environmental Health, University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Served as a permanent Commission member
from May 30, 2002 to December 29, 2003 and from April 23, 2004 to April 22, 2007

Alan R. Graham
Alan R. Graham
Rexton, New Brunswick
Named as a permanent Commission member
on January 1, 1999
André Harvey
André Harvey
Québec, Québec
Named as a permanent Commission member
on June 2, 2006

Linda J. Keen
Linda J. Keen
Ottawa, Ontario
Named as a permanent Commission member
on November 1, 2000

Dr. J. Moyra J. McDill
Dr. J. Moyra J. McDill
Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario
Named as a permanent Commission member
on May 30, 2002
Dr. Jean-Guy Paquet
Dr. Jean-Guy Paquet
Chairman, Board of the National Optics Institute
Québec, Québec
Served as a permanent Commission member
from June 2, 2006 to April 30, 2007

Executive Management Team


Michael Binder
Michael Binder
President and Chief Executive Officer
Named as President of CNSC on January 15, 2008
Ramzi Jammal
Ramzi Jammal
Executive Vice-President, Regulatory Operations
and Chief Regulatory Operations Officer
Terry Jamieson
Terry Jamieson
Vice-President, Technical Support
Patricia McDowell
Patricia McDowell
Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs
Claude Caron
Claude Caron
Vice-President, Corporate Services
and Chief Financial Officer
Jacques Lavoie
Jacques Lavoie
Senior General Counsel and Director of Legal Services

Marc Leblanc
Marc Leblanc
Commission Secretary

Rapport annuel 2007-2008 de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN)

Le mandat de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) est d'assurer la réglementation indépendante du secteur nucléaire au Canada, afin que les installations nucléaires canadiennes soient parmi les plus sûres et les plus sécuritaires au monde.

La CCSN relève le défi de la demande accrue d'énergie nucléaire en veillant à ce que la croissance qui s'y rattache soit bien gérée et réglementée. Par des processus rigoureux d'autorisation et de conformité, la CCSN exerce ses responsabilités de surveillance réglementaire pour garantir que les installations nucléaires au Canada sont sûres et sécuritaires et que la santé des Canadiens et l'environnement demeurent une priorité absolue. La CCSN collabore également avec des partenaires nationaux et internationaux afin de promouvoir la pleine participation du Canada à la mise en place et au maintien des pratiques exemplaires pour l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie et des matières nucléaires.

La CCSN s'engage auprès des Canadiens à préserver la rigueur et l'efficacité du processus canadien de réglementation nucléaire et à protéger leur santé, leur sûreté, leur sécurité et l'environnement.

Lettre au ministre

L'honorable Lisa Raitt
Ministre de Ressources naturelles Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)

Madame,

J'ai l'honneur de vous soumettre le rapport annuel de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire pour l'exercice financier se terminant le 31 mars 2008. Ce rapport est présenté conformément à l'article 72 de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires.

Michael Binder
Président et premier dirigeant
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Message du président

Michael Binder

C'est avec grand plaisir que je présente le rapport annuel 2007-2008 de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN), mon premier depuis que j'ai été nommé au poste de président de la Commission.

L'année écoulée a été marquée par plusieurs réalisations importantes de la CCSN. Nous avons entrepris d'améliorer les relations avec nos parties intéressées. De plus, nous avons rationalisé et renforcé le cadre de réglementation, réaffecté des ressources en raison de l'intérêt croissant pour de nouvelles centrales nucléaires, établi un groupe de travail chargé d'améliorer les consultations avec les Autochtones et jeté des bases nouvelles en vue d'investir dans le perfectionnement des employés. Ce ne sont là que quelques exemples de l'excellent travail que la CCSN a réalisé au cours de l'année écoulée pour renforcer la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens et de l'environnement.

Une croissance importante du secteur nucléaire est à prévoir au cours des prochaines années en raison de la hausse continue de la demande mondiale d'énergie et de la nécessité de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Jumelé à l'utilisation croissante de la technologie nucléaire dans l'industrie, la recherche et la médecine, ce regain du nucléaire s'accompagne de la nécessité encore plus grande d'assurer la surveillance réglementaire - en particulier pour ce qui est de l'autorisation des mines d'uranium et des installations de traitement d'uranium.

L'augmentation des besoins canadiens en énergie survient au moment où notre parc national de centrales nucléaires vieillit. Il n'est donc pas surprenant que la CCSN reçoive un nombre important de projets visant à remettre à neuf et à prolonger la durée de vie des installations existantes, ou à construire de nouvelles centrales nucléaires pour répondre à la demande d'énergie. La CCSN recentre ses efforts afin de suivre cette évolution et la croissance connexe du nombre de projets de nouvelles mines d'uranium et d'installations de traitement.

Au plan international, la CCSN continue de participer activement aux activités de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique et de l'Agence pour l'énergie nucléaire. Ces forums permettent de partager les pratiques exemplaires et de renforcer les engagements du Canada envers la non-prolifération et l'utilisation pacifique des matières nucléaires.

À la fin de 2007, l'arrêt prolongé du réacteur national de recherche universel (NRU), à Chalk River, a suscité des préoccupations au sujet de la pénurie possible d'isotopes servant au diagnostic et au traitement médical. En conséquence, le gouvernement a enjoint la CCSN de s'assurer que la santé des Canadiens soit prise en compte dans ses décisions d'autorisation. Cet incident a mené la CCSN et Énergie atomique du Canada limitée à commander conjointement un examen par une tierce partie indépendante. L'examen a permis de tirer des leçons essentielles et de formuler des recommandations d'amélioration que la CCSN étudiera et mettra en œuvre dès que possible.

Au cours des quelques mois écoulés depuis mon arrivée, j'ai été impressionné par la compétence et le dévouement du personnel de la CCSN. Nos efforts actifs de recrutement et de maintien d'un personnel qualifié demeureront une priorité importante pour la CCSN. Nous allons accroître nos efforts de dotation dans un marché hautement concurrentiel, afin de répondre aux besoins d'un secteur en croissance.

À titre de président et de premier dirigeant de la CCSN, je suis déterminé à assurer aux Canadiens que les matières nucléaires des installations nucléaires sont utilisées de manière sûre et sécuritaire.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées.

Michael Binder
Michael Binder
Président et premier dirigeant,
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Commissaires

Michael Binder Michael Binder
Président et premier dirigeant, Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire Ottawa (Ontario) Nommé commissaire permanent le 15 janvier 2008

Dr. Christopher R. Barnes
Dr. Christopher R. Barnes
Professeur, School of Earth and Ocean Sciences,
Université de Victoria
Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Nommé commissaire permanent le 23 janvier 1996
Dr. Ronald J. Barriault
Dr. Ronald J. Barriault
Médecin, Régie de la santé de Restigouche
Charlo (Nouveau-Brunswick)
Nommé commissaire permanent le 3 décembre 2007
Dr. James A. Dosman
Dr. James A. Dosman
Directeur, Institute of Agricultural Rural and Environmental Health, Université de la Saskatchewan
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)
A siégé comme commissaire permanent du 30 mai 2002 au 29 décembre 2003 et du 23 avril 2004 au 22 avril 2007
Alan R. Graham
Alan R. Graham
Rexton (Nouveau-Brunswick)
Nommé commissaire permanent le 1er janvier 1999
André Harvey
André Harvey
Québec (Québec)
Nommé commissaire permanent le 2 juin 2006

Linda J. Keen
Linda J. Keen
Ottawa (Ontario)
Nommée commissaire permanente le 1er novembre 2000

Dr. J. Moyra J. McDill
Dr. J. Moyra J. McDill
Professeure, Département de génie mécanique et de génie aérospatial, Université Carleton
Ottawa (Ontario)
Dr. Jean-Guy Paquet
Dr. Jean-Guy Paquet
Président, Conseil d'administration de l'Institut national d'optique,
Québec (Québec)
A siégé comme commissaire permanent du 2 juin 2006 au 30 avril 2007

Équipe de la direction

Michael Binder
Michael Binder
Président et premier dirigeant
Nommé à la présidence de la CCSN le 15 janvier 2008
Ramzi Jammal
Ramzi Jammal
Premier vice-président et chef, Réglementation
des opérations
Terry Jamieson
Terry Jamieson
Vice-président, Soutien technique
Patricia McDowell
Patricia McDowell
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires
Claude Caron
Claude Caron
Vice-président et chef, Services de gestion
Jacques Lavoie
Jacques Lavoie
Avocat général et directeur, Service juridique

Marc Leblanc
Marc Leblanc
Secrétaire de la Commission

Dernière mise à jour :