Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences 2017-18

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on travel, hospitality and conference expenditures for the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2018, except for information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Travel, hospitality and conference expenditures incurred by a federal department or agency relate to activities that support the department or agency’s mandate and the government’s priorities.

The CNSC’s travel, hospitality and conference expenditures support the delivery of the following core programs and services to Canadians:

  • regulating the development, production and use of nuclear energy in Canada to protect health, safety and the environment
  • regulating the production, possession, use and transport of nuclear substances, and the production, possession and use of prescribed equipment and prescribed information
  • implementing measures respecting international control of the development, production, transport and use of nuclear energy and substances, including measures respecting the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons and nuclear explosive devices
  • disseminating objective scientific, technical and regulatory information concerning the CNSC’s activities, and about how the development, production, possession, transport and use of nuclear substances affect the environment and the health and safety of persons

For more information on the CNSC’s mandate and core programs and/or services, please consult the CNSC’s Departmental Results Report or Departmental Plan.

Travel, hospitality and conference expenditures

Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Expenditure category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018
($ thousands)
Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2017**
($ thousands)
Variance**
($ thousands)
Travel

Operational activities

$3,454 N/A N/A

Key stakeholders

$582 N/A N/A

Internal governance

$178 N/A N/A

Training

$727 N/A N/A

Other

$70 N/A N/A

A. Total travel

$5,011 $4,637 $374

B. Hospitality

$140 $97 $43

C. Conference fees

$107 $83 $24
Total (A+B+C) $5,258 $4,817 $441
International travel by minister and minister’s staff* (included in travel) N/A N/A N/A

* CNSC reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources, whose travel expenses are included in Natural Resources Canada's Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences.

** The 2017–18 annual report format is new and departments were not required to restate their travel expenditures for the year ended March 31, 2017; therefore, the expenditures by travel category are shown as N/A.

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

Travel: Compared with fiscal year 2016–17, departmental travel expenditures increased in relation to regulatory oversight demands, outreach and governance activities, and cost of living increases.

Hospitality: Compared with fiscal year 2016–17, departmental hospitality expenditures increased mainly as a result of an increase in the number of Commission hearings and outreach activities hosted by the department. Expenditures were incurred in 2017–18 in support of public hearings for the licence renewals of the Point Lepreau Generating Station and Chalk River Laboratories, which took place in the affected communities and required provision for large contingents of staff and Commission members.

Conference Fees: Compared with fiscal year 2016–17, departmental conference expenditures increased mainly as a result of stakeholder engagement and an increase in the numbers of conferences attended by the CNSC’s Technical Support Branch.

Date modified:

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences 2017-2018

Comme l’exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018, sauf l’information non divulguée en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par un ministère ou un organisme fédéral sont liées à des activités qui appuient le mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme et les priorités gouvernementales.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de la CCSN soutiennent l’exécution des programmes et la prestation des services fondamentaux suivants pour les Canadiens :

  • réglementer le développement, la production et l’utilisation de l’énergie nucléaire au Canada afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité et de protéger l’environnement
  • réglementer la production, la possession, l’utilisation et le transport des substances nucléaires ainsi que la production, la possession et l’utilisation d’équipement et de renseignements réglementés
  • mettre en œuvre des mesures de contrôle international du développement, de la production, du transport et de l’utilisation de l’énergie et des substances nucléaires, y compris des mesures de non-prolifération des armes et des dispositifs explosifs nucléaires
  • diffuser de l’information scientifique, technique ou réglementaire objective au sujet des activités de la CCSN et des conséquences, pour la santé et la sécurité des personnes et de l’environnement, du développement, de la production, de la possession, du transport et de l’utilisation des substances nucléaires

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le mandat et les principaux programmes et services de la CCSN, veuillez consulter le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement ou le Plan ministériel.

Dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences

Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018
(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017**
(en milliers de dollars)
Écart**
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages

Activités opérationnelles

3 454$ S.O. S.O.

Principaux intervenants

582$ S.O. S.O.

Gouvernance interne

178$ S.O. S.O.

Formation

727$ S.O. S.O.

Autre

70$ S.O. S.O.

A. Total des dépenses de voyages

5 011$ 4 637$ 374$

B. Accueil

140$ 97$ 43$

C. Frais de conférence

107$ 83$ 24$
Total (A+B+C) 5 258$ 4 817$ 441$
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre* (compris dans Voyages) S.O. S.O. S.O.

* La CCSN rend des comptes au Parlement par l’intermédiaire du ministre des Ressources naturelles, dont les dépenses de voyages sont indiquées dans le Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de Ressources naturelles Canada.

** Selon le nouveau format du rapport annuel 2017–2018, les ministères ne sont pas obligés de réinscrire leurs frais de déplacement pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017; par conséquent, l’acronyme S.O. est utilisé pour les dépenses par catégorie de voyage.

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

Voyages : Par rapport à l’exercice 2016–2017, les frais de déplacement du ministère ont augmenté de concert avec les exigences liées à la surveillance réglementaire, les activités de sensibilisation et de gouvernance, et les augmentations du coût de la vie.

Accueil : Par rapport à l’exercice 2016-2017, les dépenses d’accueil du ministère ont augmenté principalement en raison de l’augmentation du nombre d’audiences de la Commission et d’activités de sensibilisation organisées par le ministère. Les dépenses ont été engagées en 2017-2018 pour appuyer les audiences publiques sur le renouvellement des permis de la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau et des Laboratoires de Chalk River, qui se sont déroulées dans les collectivités touchées, et qui ont nécessité plus de dépenses en raison du nombre élevé d’employés et de commissaires présents.

Frais de conférence : Par rapport à l’exercice 2016-2017, les dépenses du ministère associées aux conférences ont augmenté principalement en raison de la mobilisation des parties intéressées et de la plus grande participation du personnel de la Direction générale du soutien technique de la CCSN à des conférences.

Dernière mise à jour :