Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences 2016-2017

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission’s (CNSC) total annual expenditures on travel, hospitality and conference fees incurred for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2017. It also provides explanations for variances from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conference fees incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government’s priorities.

For the CNSC, this includes the delivery of the following core programs and services to Canadians:

  • regulating the development, production and use of nuclear energy in Canada to protect health, safety and the environment
  • regulating the production, possession, use and transport of nuclear substances, and the production, possession and use of prescribed equipment and prescribed information
  • implementing measures respecting international control of the development, production, transport and use of nuclear energy and substances, including measures respecting the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons and nuclear explosive devices
  • disseminating scientific, technical and regulatory information concerning the CNSC’s activities, pertaining to the development, production, possession, transport and use of nuclear substances that affect the environment and the health and safety of persons

For more information on the CNSC's mandate and core programs and/or services, please consult the CNSC's Departmental Performance Report or Departmental Plan.

Total annual expenditures for the CNSC's travel, hospitality and conferences fees:
Expenditure category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017
($000)
Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2016
($000)
Change
($000)
* CNSC reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources, whose travel expenses are included in Natural Resources Canada's Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences.
Travel: Public servants $4,561 $4,598 ($37)
Travel: Non-public servants $76 $71 $5
Total Travel $4,637 $4,669 ($32)
Hospitality $97 $92 $5
Conference Fees $83 $4 $79
Total $4,817 $4,765 $52
International travel by Minister and minister’s staff * N/A N/A N/A

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year.

Travel:

  1. Public servants: no significant change
  2. Non-public servants: no significant change.
  3. Minister and minister’s staff: not applicable.

Hospitality:

Compared to fiscal year 2015–16, hospitality expenditures increased primarily because of the scheduling of emergency management exercises

Conference Fees:

Compared to fiscal year 2015–16, reported fees increased because of a revised interpretation of related guidance from the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. Conferences where CNSC participants debated or were informed of the status of the nuclear industry had been classified as training prior to 2016–17, but are now identified and reported under the "conference fees" expenditure category.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences 2016-2017

Comme l'exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements du Conseil du trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l'information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017. Il fournit également des explications sur les écarts observés par rapport à l'exercice précédent dans chacune des catégories.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux concernent des activités qui soutiennent la réalisation du mandat d'un ministère ou d'un organisme et les priorités gouvernementales.

Dans le cas de la CCSN, elles comprennent l'exécution des programmes et la prestation des services de base suivants pour les Canadiens :

  • réglementer le développement, la production et l'utilisation de l'énergie nucléaire au Canada afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité, et de protéger l'environnement
  • réglementer la production, la possession, l'utilisation et le transport des substances nucléaires ainsi que la production, la possession et l'utilisation d'équipement et de renseignements réglementés
  • mettre en oeuvre des mesures de contrôle international du développement, de la production, du transport et de l'utilisation de l'énergie et des substances nucléaires, y compris des mesures de non-prolifération des armes et des dispositifs explosifs nucléaires
  • informer objectivement le public, sur les plans scientifique, technique ou réglementaire, au sujet des activités de la CCSN et des effets que le développement, la production, la possession, le transport et l'utilisation des substances nucléaires peuvent entraîner sur la santé et la sécurité des personnes et l'environnement

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le mandat et les principaux programmes et services de la CCSN, veuillez consulter le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement ou le Plan ministériel de la CCSN.

Total des dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de la CCSN
Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017
(000 $)
Dépenses pour l'exercice précédent terminé le 31 mars 2016
(000 $)
Écart
(000 $)
* La CCSN rend des comptes au Parlement par l'intermédiaire du ministre des Ressources naturelles, dont les dépenses de voyage sont indiquées dans le Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de Ressources naturelles Canada.
Voyages : fonctionnaires 4 561 $ 4 598 $ (37 $)
Voyages : non-fonctionnaire 76 $ 71 $ 5 $
Total des dépenses de voyages 4 637 $ 4 669 $ (32 $)
Accueil 97 $ 92 $ 5 $
Conférences 83 $ 4 $ 79 $
Total 4 817 $ 4 765 $ 52 $
Voyages à l'étranger du ministre et du personnel du ministre (y compris les déplacements des non-fonctionnaires)* S.O. S.O. S.O.

Écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent

Voyages

  1. Fonctionnaire : aucun changement important
  2. Non-fonctionnaires : aucun changement important.
  3. Ministre et personnel du ministre : sans objet

Accueil :

Par comparaison à l'exercice 2015-2016, les dépenses d'accueil ont augmenté principalement à cause des exercices de gestion des urgences.

Conférences :

Par comparaison à l'exercice 2015-2016, les frais déclarés ont augmenté à cause de la révision de l'interprétation d'une orientation du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada à ce sujet. Les conférences où les participants de la CCSN ont discuté de la situation de l'industrie nucléaire, ou ont reçu de l'information sur le sujet, étaient classées en tant que formation avant 2016-2017, mais elles se rapportent désormais dans la catégorie de dépenses « Frais de conférences ».

Dernière mise à jour :