Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences- 2015-2016

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission’s (CNSC) total annual expenditures on travel, hospitality and conference fees incurred for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2016. It also provides explanations for variances from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conference fees incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government’s priorities.

For the CNSC, this includes the delivery of the following core programs and services to Canadians:

  • regulating the development, production and use of nuclear energy in Canada to protect health, safety and the environment
  • regulating the production, possession, use and transport of nuclear substances, and the production, possession and use of prescribed equipment and prescribed information
  • implementing measures respecting international control of the development, production, transport and use of nuclear energy and substances, including measures respecting the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons and nuclear explosive devices
  • disseminating scientific, technical and regulatory information concerning the CNSC’s activities, pertaining to the development, production, possession, transport and use of nuclear substances that affect the environment and the health and safety of persons

For more information on the CNSC's mandate and core programs and/or services, please consult the CNSC's Departmental Performance Report or the Report on Plans and Priorities.

Total annual expenditures for the CNSC's travel, hospitality and conferences fees:
Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016
($000)
Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2015
($000)
Change
($000)
* CNSC reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources, whose travel expenses are included in Natural Resources Canada's Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences.
Travel: Public servants $4,598 $4,491 $107
Travel: Non-public servants $71 $58 $13
Total Travel $4,669 $4,549 $120
Hospitality $92 $78 $14
Conference Fees $4 $2 $2
Total $4,765 $4,629 $136
International travel by Minister and minister’s staff * N/A N/A N/A

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year.

Travel:

  1. Public servants: Compared to fiscal year 2014–15, travel expenditures by public servants increased mainly due to an increase in travel for the purpose of training new employees hired under the CNSC’s workforce renewal initiative, part of a comprehensive strategy to ensure workforce sustainability by addressing the potential impact of attrition and ensuring an effective knowledge transfer.
  2. Non-public servants: Compared to fiscal year 2014–15, non-public servants travel increased primarily due to an increase in travel by external consultants delivering training to CNSC staff.

  3. Minister and minister’s staff: Not applicable.

Hospitality:

Compared to fiscal year 2014–15, hospitality expenditures increased mainly as a consequence of public hearings for the licence renewals of the Bruce and Darlington Nuclear Generating Stations, as well as SRB Technologies, which took place in the affected communities and required providing for large contingents of staff and Commission members.

Conference Fees:

The CNSC had no significant changes in conference fees expenditures from 2014–15 to 2015–16.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences - 2015-2016

Conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit des renseignements sur les dépenses annuelles globales engagées par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) en matière de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences au cours de l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016. Il fournit également des explications sur les écarts observés par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune des catégories.
Cette information est mise à jour chaque année et ne comprend pas de renseignements qui sont protégés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux concernent des activités qui soutiennent la réalisation du mandat d’un ministère ou d’un organisme et les priorités gouvernementales.

Pour la CCSN, ces dépenses s’appliquent aux programmes et services essentiels suivants offerts aux Canadiens :

  • réglementer le développement, la production et l’utilisation de l’énergie nucléaire au Canada pour préserver la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité et protéger l’environnement
  • réglementer la production, la possession, l’utilisation et le transport des substances nucléaires ainsi que la production, la possession et l’utilisation de l’équipement réglementé et des renseignements réglementés
  • mettre en œuvre des mesures de contrôle internationales du développement, de la production, du transport et de l’utilisation de l’énergie et des substances nucléaires, notamment celles qui portent sur la non-prolifération des armes nucléaires et des engins nucléaires explosifs
  • diffuser de l’information scientifique, technique ou réglementaire sur les activités de la CCSN, en rapport avec le développement, la production, la possession, le transport et l’utilisation des substances nucléaires qui agissent sur l’environnement, la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des personnes

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le mandat et les principaux programmes et services de la CCSN, veuillez consulter le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement ou le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de la CCSN.

Dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de la CCSN:
Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016
(000 $)
Dépenses pour l’exercice précédent terminé le 31 mars 2015
(000 $)
Écart
(000 $)
* La CCSN rend des comptes au Parlement par l’intermédiaire du ministre des Ressources naturelles, dont les dépenses de voyage sont indiquées dans le Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de Ressources naturelles Canada.
Voyages : fonctionnaires 4 598 $ 4 491 $ 107 $
Voyages : non-fonctionnaire 71 $ 58 $ 13 $
Total des dépenses de voyages 4 669 $ 4 549 $ 120 $
Accueil 92 $ 78 $ 14 $
Conférences 4 $ 2 $ 2 $
Total 4 765 $ 4 629 $ 136 $
Voyages à l’étranger du ministre et du personnel du ministre * S.O. S.O. S.O.

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

Voyages

  1. Fonctionnaire :Comparées à l’exercice 2014-2015, les dépenses de voyages des fonctionnaires ont augmenté principalement en raison de la hausse du nombre de voyages pour la formation de nouveaux employés embauchés dans le cadre de l’initiative de renouvellement de l’effectif de la CCSN, qui fait partie d’une stratégie complète visant à assurer le maintien de l’effectif en atténuant l’impact potentiel de l’attrition et en assurant le transfert efficace des connaissances.
  1. Non-fonctionnaires : Comparées à l’exercice 2014-2015, les dépenses de voyages des non-fonctionnaires ont augmenté principalement en raison de la hausse du nombre de voyages de consultants externes qui ont donné de la formation au personnel de la CCSN.
  1. Ministre et personnel du ministre : Sans objet

Accueil :

Comparativement à l’exercice financier 2014–2015, les dépenses d’accueil ont augmenté, principalement en raison des audiences publiques sur le renouvellement des permis des centrales nucléaires de Bruce et de Darlington et de SRB Technologies. Ces audiences ont eu lieu dans les communautés touchées et ont nécessité l’accueil de vastes contingents d’employés et de commissaires.

Conférences :

Aucun écart important n’a été observé à la CCSN entre les dépenses de conférences de 2014-2015 et de 2015-2016.

Dernière mise à jour :