Independent Environmental Monitoring Program (IEMP)

New

Some enhancements were made to the CNSC's Independent Environmental Monitoring Program (IEMP) Web page to provide you more access to information. Some of these updates are the result of recommendations made through our public Commission process.

You can now access:

To complement existing and ongoing compliance activities, the CNSC implemented its Independent Environmental Monitoring Program (IEMP) to verify that the public and environment around CNSC-regulated nuclear facilities are not adversely affected by releases to the environment. This verification is achieved through independent sampling and analysis by the CNSC.

Introduction

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), the licensee of each nuclear facility, is required to develop, implement and maintain an environmental monitoring program to demonstrate that the public and the environment are protected from emissions related to the facility's nuclear activities. The results of these monitoring programs are submitted to the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to ensure compliance with applicable guidelines and limits, as set out in regulations that oversee Canada's nuclear industry. As part of the CNSC's regulatory oversight, CNSC staff also conduct extensive compliance verification activities. These include reviews of the licensees' environmental protection programs to ensure they are adequate, as well as regular inspections to ensure the programs are being implemented accordingly.

The CNSC has implemented its Independent Environmental Monitoring Program (IEMP) to verify that the public and the environment around licensed nuclear facilities are safe. It is separate from, but complementary to, the CNSC's ongoing compliance verification program. The IEMP involves taking samples from public areas around the facilities, and measuring and analyzing the amount of radiological (nuclear)and hazardous substances in those samples. CNSC staff collect the samples and send them to the CNSC's state-of-the-art laboratory for testing and analysis.

The IEMP is being implemented for facilities in all segments of the nuclear fuel cycle: uranium mines and mills, uranium and nuclear processing facilities, nuclear power plants, research and medical isotope production facilities, and waste management facilities. The CNSC's program aligns with those of other national and international regulatory bodies and complements the CNSC's ongoing environmental protection activities.

IEMP in Action

The IEMP process consists of developing site-specific sampling plans for each nuclear facility, and then processing and analyzing the samples collected. The sampling plans focus on measuring concentrations of contaminants in the environment at publicly accessible locations such as parks, residential communities and beaches, and in areas of interest identified in environmental risk assessments (ERAs). Samples may be taken for air, water, soil, sediment, vegetation such as grass and weeds, and some food, such as meat and produce.

Samples are analyzed at the CNSC's state-of-the art laboratory by highly qualified scientists using best industry practices. Samples are measured for both radiological and non-radiological contaminants related to the activities of the nuclear facility and as identified in the site-specific ERA. Contaminant levels are compared to those in applicable guidelines and/or natural background levels to confirm there is no impact on health or the environment. Conclusions and data are then published here on the CNSC website, illustrated in a user-friendly map.

CNSC regulatory oversight reports

The CNSC publishes annual regulatory oversight reports on the nuclear industry, which include results from the IEMP and other compliance verification activities. These reports focus on the licensees' annual performance in 14 safety and control areas, including environmental protection, radiation protection, conventional health and safety, waste management, and emergency management.

The reports are discussed at public Commission meetings. The CNSC encourages the public and Indigenous groups to comment on these reports and offers funding opportunities through its Participant Funding Program.

Regulatory Oversight Reports

Other monitoring programs and reporting

To assist readers, the CNSC has compiled a list of other departments, levels of government, agencies, and licensees of nuclear facilities that conduct monitoring and reporting in the areas of radiation and environmental protection.

Results

To date, sampling has been conducted at a number of nuclear facilities. Click on a facility of interest on the map below to view IEMP results.

Chalk River Laboratories

SRB Technologies Nuclear Processing Facility

Bruce A and B Nuclear Generating Stations

BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada (BWXT), (formerly GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy Canada - Toronto)

Darlington Nuclear Generating Station

Key Lake Mill

McArthur River mine
Blind River Refinery
Gentilly-2 Nuclear Facility
Port Hope Conversion Facility and Cameco Fuel Manufacturing
Welcome & Port Granby Waste Management Facilities
Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station (PLNGS)
Pickering Nuclear Generating Station
Shield Source Incorporated
BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada (BWXT), (formerly GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy Canada - Peterborough)
Elliot Lake historical sites
Nordion (Canada) Inc.
McClean Lake Operation
Deloro closed mine site
TRIUMF Accelerators Inc.

Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE)

Nouveau

Nous avons apporté des améliorations à la page Web du Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE) afin de vous offrir un meilleur accès à l'information. Certaines de ces mises à jour sont le résultat de recommandations formulées lors du processus public de la Commission.

Vous pouvez maintenant accéder à ce qui suit :

Pour compléter les activités existantes et continues de vérification de la conformité, la CCSN a mis en œuvre un Programme indépendant de surveillance environnementale (PISE) dans le but de vérifier de manière indépendante que le public et l'environnement se trouvant à proximité des installations nucléaires réglementées par la CCSN ne subissent pas d'incidences négatives provenant des rejets dans l'environnement. Pour ce faire, la CCSN recourt à un processus indépendant d'échantillonnage et d'analyse.

Introduction

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), les titulaires de permis d'installations nucléaires doivent élaborer, mettre en œuvre et tenir à jour un programme de surveillance environnementale dans le but de protéger le public, les travailleurs et l'environnement contre les émissions provenant des activités nucléaires de leurs installations. Les résultats de ces programmes de surveillance sont soumis à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) pour assurer la conformité aux lignes directrices et limites applicables, telles qu'établies dans les règlements qui gouvernent l'industrie nucléaire du Canada. Dans le cadre de la surveillance réglementaire exercée par l'organisation, le personnel de la CCSN réalisent aussi des activités de vérification approfondie de la conformité. Celles-ci comprennent des examens visant à s'assurer que les programmes de protection de l'environnement des titulaires de permis sont adéquats, ainsi que des inspections régulières pour vérifier que les programmes sont mis en œuvre en conséquence.

La CCSN a mis en œuvre son PISE dans le but de vérifier que le public et l'environnement se trouvant à proximité des installations nucléaires sont protégés. Le PISE est indépendant du programme de vérification continue de la conformité de la CCSN, mais il le complète. Il consiste à prélever des échantillons dans des aires publiques autour des installations, ainsi qu'à mesurer et à analyser des substances radiologiques (nucléaires)  et non radiologiques (dangereux). Les échantillons sont prélevés par le personnel de la CCSN et envoyés au laboratoire de pointe de la CCSN aux fins d'analyse.

Le programme s'applique aux installations de tous les segments du cycle du combustible nucléaire : mines et usines de concentration d'uranium, installations de traitement nucléaire et de l'uranium, centrales nucléaires, établissements de recherche, installations de production d'isotopes médicaux et installations de gestion des déchets. Le PISE de la CCSN s'aligne sur celui d'autres organismes de réglementation nationaux et internationaux et s'ajoute aux initiatives continues de protection de l'environnement de la CCSN.

Le PISE en action

Le processus du PISE consiste à élaborer des plans d'échantillonnage propres au site de chaque installation nucléaire, ainsi qu'à traiter et à analyser les échantillons recueillis. Les plans d'échantillonnage visent à mesurer les concentrations de contaminants dans l'environnement dans les endroits accessibles au public, comme des parcs, des communautés résidentielles, des plages et des zones jugées pertinentes dans les évaluations des risques environnementaux (ERE). Des échantillons peuvent être prélevés dans l'air, l'eau, le sol, les sédiments, la végétation (gazon, mauvaises herbes, etc.) et les aliments (viande, fruits et légumes, etc.).

Les échantillons sont analysés au laboratoire de pointe de la CCSN par des scientifiques hautement qualifiés, conformément aux pratiques exemplaires de l'industrie, pour mesurer les contaminants de nature radiologique et non radiologique en lien avec les activités de l'installation nucléaire et identifiés dans l'ERE propre au site. Les concentrations de contaminants sont comparées aux lignes directrices applicables ou aux concentrations naturelles de fond pour confirmer l'absence de répercussion sur la santé ou l'environnement. Les conclusions et les données sont ensuite publiées ici sur le site Web de la CCSN dans une carte interactive.

Rapports de surveillance réglementaire

La CCSN publie annuellement des rapports de surveillance réglementaire sur l'industrie nucléaire. Ces rapports contiennent les résultats du PISE ainsi que d'autres activités de vérification de la conformité. Ils mettent l'accent sur le rendement annuel des titulaires de permis dans 14 domaines de sûreté et de réglementation, comme la protection de l'environnement, la radioprotection, la santé et la sécurité classiques, la gestion des déchets et la gestion des urgences.
Ces rapports font l'objet de discussions lors des réunions publiques de la Commission. La CCSN encourage le public et les groupes autochtones à formuler des commentaires sur ces rapports et elle offre du financement par l'intermédiaire de son Programme de financement des participants.

Rapports de surveillance réglementaire

Autres programmes de surveillance et activités de déclaration

Pour aider les lecteurs, la CCSN a élaboré une liste des autres ministères, ordres de gouvernement, organismes et titulaires de permis d'installations nucléaires qui mènent des activités de surveillance et de déclaration dans les domaines de la radioprotection et de la protection de l'environnement.

Résultats

À ce jour, des échantillons ont été prélevés sur le site de plusieurs installations nucléaires. Pour consulter les résultats, veuillez utiliser la carte ci-dessous et cliquer sur l'installation qui vous intéresse.

Laboratoires de Chalk River
Installation de traitement des substances nucléaires de SRB Technologies
Centrales nucléaires de Bruce-A et Bruce-B
BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada (BWXT), (auparavant GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy Canada - Toronto)
Centrale nucléaire de Darlington
Usine de concentration de Key Lake
Mine de McArthur River
Raffinerie de Blind River
Installation nucléaire de Gentilly-2
Usine de transformation de Port Hope et installations de production de combustible de Cameco
Installations de gestion des déchets Welcome et Port Granby
Centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau
Centrale nucléaire de Pickering
Shield Source Incorporated
BWXT Nuclear Energy Canada (BWXT), (auparavant GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy Canada) - Peterborough
Sites historiques d'Elliot Lake
Nordion (Canada) Inc.
Installations de McClean Lake
Site de la mine fermée de Deloro
TRIUMF Accelerators Inc.